World of Warcraft

Dire Maul introduced as WoW Classic’s first new dungeon

Published: 15/Oct/2019 9:49 Updated: 15/Oct/2019 11:50

by Joe O'Brien


The first new content for World of Warcraft Classic since its launch is about to arrive, with the Dire Maul dungeon set for release on October 15.

WoW Classic returns Blizzard’s immensely popular MMO to its original, pre-expansion state, and has been met with massive interest, with huge numbers of players flooding to relive their early WoW experience, or try the original game for the first time.

Original “vanilla” Warcraft didn’t remain entirely the same throughout its lifespan, however, with a variety of new content added in much the same way that the modern retail version of the game evolves throughout each expansion.

Blizzard EntertainmentWoW Classic has proven immensely popular with fans.

For Classic, Blizzard have started the clock near the beginning of vanilla WoW, and are set to introduce additional content over six phases, following a similar structure to the game’s original progression.

In a recent content update, Blizzard revealed that the first new release would be the Dire Maul dungeon, which will arrive on October 15.

Dire Maul is a five-player dungeon found in Feralas designed for players at level 58-60, offering some of the strongest gear players can find before jumping into raids. As well as the new drops, Dire Maul also offers some valuable world buffs to power up players ahead of raids.

The dungeon was originally slated to go live as part of Phase Two, which will also include world bosses Azuregos and Kazzak, as well as the Honor System for PvP and PvP Rank rewards. However, Dire Maul has now been moved forward, while the rest of Phase Two will be released at a date yet to be announced.

Blizzard haven’t announced a specific time frame for the progression of each content phase for WoW Classic, but with the original game having advanced over the course of two years prior to the release of the first expansion, The Burning Crusade, it seems likely that Classic will follow a similar schedule.

World of Warcraft

WoW Classic Naxxramas raid and Phase 6 patch start dates revealed

Published: 3/Dec/2020 16:40 Updated: 3/Dec/2020 16:41

by Bill Cooney


Blizzard has officially announced when WoW Classic Phase 6 will launch, bringing with it the Scourge Invasion and the highly-anticipated Naxxramas raid.

The news that Naxx is coming is not new to anyone who plays WoW Classic. But, a start date before the new year is big news indeed for players still running their way through Ahn-Qiraj.

Dexerto actually reported on a leak that claimed Phase 6 was coming our way in “early December,” and when Blizzard confirmed the Phase 6 prepatch dropping on December 1, this was spot on.

The citadel of Naxxramas won’t be open for raiding until Dec. 3 at 5pm EST following the “Scourge Invasion” world event. This sees various undead mobs invading high-level zones like Searing Gorge and Eastern Plaguelands.

Naxxramus is back!

Arguably the hardest raid ever released, Naxx marks the end of an incredibly fantastic journey in WoW Classic’s planned current content. Also reintroducing the first legendary weapon for caster classes, we’ll see Atiesh, Greatstaff of The Guardian back once more.

An extremely powerful item in WoW, Classic is set to be buzzing with excitement as players work towards this insane legendary.

WoW Classic Naxxramas start date

“The Naxxramaas raid and Scourge Invasion content will unlock at the same time for all realms in the world on December 3,” devs wrote on the official Blizzard forums. “With the content unlock, players can become attuned to Naxxramas by fulfilling Archmage Angela Dosantos’s requirements in Light’s Hope Chapel.”

That’s right, in order to get into the Naxxramas raid you’ll have to get attuned, again! The quest Angela gives you is pretty simple, and you can get all the Argent Dawn rep you need during the Scourge Invasion by clearing out mobs with your friends.

If you haven’t had much of a chance to run Stratholme or Scholomance to grind out rep, don’t worry. There will be plenty of people grouping up for runs to get attuned as quickly as possible to get into the raid.

WoW Classic Naxxramas Patch Notes
Kel’Thuzad was the final boss in the original Naxxramas.

The raid itself is absolutely huge, featuring 15 bosses that are spread out over four zones.

  • Anub’Rekhan
  • Heigan the Unclean
  • Gluth
  • Gothik the Harvester
  • Grand Widow Faerlina
  • Grobbulus
  • Instructor Razuvious
  • Kel’Thuzad
  • Loatheb
  • Maexxna
  • Noth the Plaguebringer
  • Patchwerk
  • The Four Horseman
  • Thaddius
  • Sapphiron

Additional content

Alongside the fantastic raid and the insane amount of fighting to be done inside, there’s also a vast array of content arriving to keep players busy in other aspects of the update. We’ve detailed the important ones here

  • Players who become exalted with Warsong Gulch can now receive an epic-quality leg-piece.
  • Cenarion Circle reputation can be used to craft equipment with nature resist.
  • Zul’Gurub can now drop nature resits enchants for leg and headgear.
  • Players can obtain new skill books for new skill ranks. This includes Frost Ward, Shadow Ward, Flame Shock, Conjure Food, Eviscerate, and Ferocious Bite.
  • Silithus and Eastern Plaguelands will now have PvP objectives.
  • Players can acquire an epic ring with nature resistance from a quest to kill an Elemental Lord in Cenarion Hold.
  • Players can use trade-in components and earn gear using Argent Dawn Tokens at Light’s Hope Chapel.

The return of Naxxramas marks the beginning of the end of the WoW Classic run, with the Burning Crusade next up on the list. It’s been an absolute blast up until now. With even more bosses and loot than AQ, players will be plenty busy for a long time getting everything they want out of Phase 6.