How to get the Vicious Saddle & Mounts in WoW

Lauren Bergin
world of warcraft wow vicious saddle and mounts
Blizzard Entertainment

Wondering how to get the Vicious Saddle in World of Warcraft and show off your WoW PvP prowess? Here’s everything you need to know, as well as which saddle is either Alliance or Horde.

While exploring the spectacular vistas of World of Warcraft’s Azeroth can be a lot of fun in itself, some players are more interested in taking their experience to the next level.

Competitive WoW doesn’t get much attention in the esports world, but the PvP sector is very much alive and kicking within the bowels of the game itself, especially because there’s a plethora of rewards just waiting for those who obtain PvP glory.

One of these is the Vicious Saddle. We’re going to run over how to get it in WoW, as well as which saddles are faction-specific.


wow vicious spider mount
Blizzard Entertainment
The Vicious War Spider debuted with Shadowlands’ first PvP season.

How to get the Vicious Saddle in WoW

In order to get the Vicious Saddle in WoW, you’ll need to be ready for a PvP grind like no other. First of all, you’ll have to have obtained the seasonal mount, as well as reached Combatant level 1000+.

From here, you’ll have to:

  1. Fill the rated PvP bar to 100% – this drops your saddle (progress does not carry over to the next season, so make sure you get this filled up in time)
  2. Visit your faction’s Combatant Mount Quartermaster
    • Alliance: Necrolore Sipe in Stormwind City’s Old Town
    • Horde: Deathguard Netharian in Orgrimmar’s Valley of Strength
  3. Choose your mount!

You can also earn the Vicious War Wolf Mount and Vicious War Steed Mount by obtaining the Veteran of the Horde and Veteran of the Alliance achievements respectively. These both require you to win 75 rated battlegrounds.

WoW Vicious Mounts: Factions

You’ll very quickly notice, however, than your Alliance friends (well, foes technically) may have different Vicious Mounts to you. This is because several mounts are faction-specific.

Some do transcend Azeroth’s divide, but the vast majority do not. Thankfully, you won’t be left guessing, though, as we’ve included all of the mounts and their related faction below:

Alliance Horde Non-Specific
Reins of the Vicious War Steed Vicious War Wolf Vicious War Bear
Vicious War Mechanostrider Vicious War Kodo Vicious War Turtle
Vicious War Ram Vicious War Raptor Vicious War Fox
Reins of the Vicious Warsaber Reins of the Vicious Skeletal Warhorse Vicious War Basilisk
Vicious War Elekk Vicious Warstrider Vicious War Spider
Vicious Gilnean Warhorse Vicious War Trike
Vicious War Lion Vicious War Scorpion
Vicious War Riverbeast Vicious War Clefthoof
Vicious Black Warsaber Vicious Black Bonesteed
Vicious White Warsaber Vicious White Bonesteed

So that’s everything you need to know about WoW’s Vicious Saddles and how to obtain them. Looking to become the greatest hero Azeroth has ever seen? Be sure to check out our WoW guides:

How to level up fast |  The best expansion to level through | New player guide for WoW Shadowlands: tips and tricks | 5 best addons, ranked | How to get Pepe in WoW | Top 5 best races for classes in WoW Shadowlands | How to cancel WoW subscription | How to get & upgrade Heirlooms in WoW Shadowlands | WoW Elemental Shaman guide