Valorant

How to download and install Valorant on PC

Published: 1/Jun/2020 11:20 Updated: 1/Jun/2020 14:27

by Andy Williams

Share


Riot Games’ free-to-play first-person shooter, Valorant, is available from June 2. With floods of players eager to get into their first game, here’s everything you need to know to get Valorant on your PC.

Valorant is Riot Games’ competitive 5v5 tactical shooter, that boasts high fidelity gameplay as well as a diverse roster of characters known as Agents.

Following a record-breaking closed beta, Riot are flicking the switch on the full launch of Valorant on June 2. With a new character revealed and a first look at the new map already live, players are eager to get their hands on the game.

Valorant's Agents.
Riot Games
Valorant’s closed beta provided some essential feedback to get the game ready for launch.

How to play Valorant on your PC

1. Go to the Valorant website and download the client here.

Download Valorant.

2. Run the file and install Valorant (7.3 GB). Note: You can change the install path by clicking ‘Advanced Options’ and altering the installation location.

Installing Valorant to desktop.

3. Sign into Valorant with your Riot ID — if you’re making an account or want to change your ID, visit our guide for instructions.

Signing into Valorant.

While that will install the client in readiness for Valorant to go live, you will not be able to access the servers until Riot pushes them live on June 2. It’s worth noting that you will also have to restart your PC to ensure Vanguard (Valorant’s anti-cheat programme) is properly installed on your system.

It is also likely that Riot will push an update file through on release day, which will require you to download and install before hopping into a server. In terms of when the servers will go live in your respective region, Riot announced their staggered plan during a press release on June 1. Below is the release date/time for each region at launch:

  • Korea, Japan & Asia-Pacific: 4:00 PM (PST – June 1) / 7:00 PM (EST – June 1) / 12:00 AM (BST – June 2).
  • Europe, Turkey, Middle-East, North Africa, Russia & CIS: 10:00 PM (PST – June 1) / 1:00 AM (EST – June 2) / 6:00 AM (BST – June 2).
  • North America, Latin America & South America: 5:00 AM (PST – June 2) / 8:00 AM (EST – June 2) / 1:00 PM (BST – June 2).

So that’s it! You’ve done everything necessary to hop straight into your first Valorant game. As soon as the servers go online in your region, you will be able to whizz through your training and get into your first match… See you in Future Earth, Agent!

Valorant

Riot criticized for picking Ninja & Myth as “exclusive” Valorant co-streamers

Published: 1/Dec/2020 13:52 Updated: 1/Dec/2020 14:51

by Lauren Bergin

Share


Valorant First Strike NA has become one of the fiercest competitions that we’ve seen in Future Earth’s short history. Valorant fans, however, aren’t pleased that Ninja and TSM Myth will be the only two streamers allowed to stream the tournament.

Valorant’s First Strike NA tournament has been one of the most hotly contested of the game’s global tournaments. There’s been upsets, crazy plays and a whole host of amazing competitive Valorant play for fans to sink their teeth into.

With the final leg of the NA tournament on the horizon, Riot Games have decided to grant exclusive co-streamer status to only two lucky personalities: Tyler ‘Ninja’ Bevins and Ali ‘Myth’ Kabbani of TSM.

The announcement has fallen slightly flat, however, and fans aren’t particularly thrilled over Riot’s choice of streamers.

Valorant First Strike header
Riot Games
Valorant First Strike has been the biggest Valorant event to date.

Ninja & Myth are First Strike co-streamers

Riot Games announced on November 30 that Twitch goliaths Ninja and TSM Myth would be “exclusive co-streamers” of the First Strike: NA main event.

The news of an ‘exclusive’ co-streaming deal with the two content creators left a lot of fans and fellow streamers somewhat unpleased. It led to a plethora of Tweets and Reddit threads dedicated to discussion around whether or not it’s fair to grant exclusivity to these two personalities.

Fans hit back

The main element of this situation that has left fans disgruntled is the idea of Ninja and Myth being granted exclusivity to the First Strike stream. This means that any other streamers who planned on streaming the event won’t be able to.

Twitch streamer mOE responded with surprise that other streamers wouldn’t be able to stream the event:

A Tweet from another fan called for the inclusion of the Overwatch League’s Josh ‘Sideshow’ Wilkinson to the lineup. The caster hosts a weekly podcast called Plat Chat on YouTube, which is entirely dedicated to Valorant. He also streams frequently, so it would make a lot of sense to include him in the exclusive co-streamer list:

Some fans were so unimpressed that they took their concerns to Reddit, where a lengthy post on the ValorantCompetitive subreddit sees fans express their disappointment.

The thread, started by u/AnOldMonkOnDMT, notes that Ninja’s ‘polarizing personality’ coupled with TSM Myth’s ‘preference for TSM’ makes the idea of watching their co-streams unappealing.

Exclusive Co Streams for First Strike NA from r/ValorantCompetitive

The comments echo this:
Card

Dexerto has reached out to Riot Games for comment.

Typically, esports tournaments will prevent streamers from ‘co-streaming’ to avoid diverting viewership from the official broadcast.