Call of Duty CS:GO Fortnite League of Legends Overwatch Apex Entertainment FIFA Dota2 Smash PUBG World of Warcraft Pokemon Opinion Gaming Dexerto TV About Contact
 
The Last of Us • Sep 20, 2019

The Last of Us 2 next gameplay stream revealed

The Last of Us 2 next gameplay stream revealed
Naughty Dog

The Last of Us Part 2 is getting what could be its final gameplay stream ahead of its release and it's right around the corner. 

Advertisement

Fans of the popular zombie survival game have been waiting patiently (well, not everyone) for a long time now for a release date to finally be confirmed for the franchise's next installment. 

While that's still yet to be confirmed, some three years after first unveiling the project was in development, the fanbase has been handed the next big thing as a new gameplay stream has been announced. 

Advertisement

naughty dog
There's also a cryptic teaser with this announcement, but we're not sure what character it's referring to.

The news was confirmed by the official The Last of Us Twitter account on September 20, dropping a fresh teaser for the upcoming PlayStation State of Play event - revealing that the game will indeed feature. 

There was even a brief cryptic teaser to come with it, too, saying: "I'm gonna find...and I'm gonna kill...every last one of them." What character is saying that remains to be seen. 

Of course, the last time we saw gameplay from the game was back in 2018 at the E3 trade fair, so this is naturally exciting news for players.

Advertisement

The State of Play livestream for The Last of Us 2 will commence on September 24 and will start at 1pm PT (9pm BST, 4pm EST, and 6am AEST on September 25). 

Naughty Dog's tweet also confirms previous leaks and rumors that more gameplay would be shown at the event, which was posted to both 4Chan and NeoGaf in August. Those posts also suggested that the game could well be saved until the release of the PlayStation 4. 

Advertisement

"It has also encountered considerable delays at the same time, mainly due to greater work on the technical side of the software for textures and frame rates, to favor in particular the technical upgrade that will be given by the new hardware features of PS5," the post to 4Chan states. 

That much is unconfirmed, though, at the time of writing, but we could get more clarity on those rumors during the State of Play itself. 

NEW from Dexerto: Why 100 Thieves is the hottest brand in esports right now:

Read more about:
The Last of Us 2