What does ‘other Snapchatters’ mean on Snapchat?

Snapchat logo on an iPhoneUnsplash: May Gauthier

After uploading a story to Snapchat, you may have noticed that it says that “other Snapchatters” have seen your story — but what exactly does this mean and what is the “other Snapchatters” glitch that is affecting some users?

Initially released in 2011, Snapchat is a multimedia instant messaging app that allows users to send each other pictures and videos, and ‘stories’ that appear to people you choose for a set 24-hour period.

Although it has been around for many years, Snapchat is still used widely by people around the world, and is a staple in many people’s daily social media routine.

Article continues after ad

Like other social media apps, Snapchat allows users to see who has viewed their story by tapping on the view count, and some people regularly check to see which of their friends have been checking out their posts.

However, you may have also noticed that sometimes when you check who has viewed your story, there is a section labeled “other Snapchatters” — but what does this actually mean? And why are some users being labeled as “other Snapchatters” when you have them added to your friend list?

Snapchat logo on yellow backgroundSnapchat
Snapchat remains a hugely popular platform

“Other Snapchatters” meaning on Snapchat

If you see “other Snapchatters” when looking at who viewed your story, it means that someone or multiple people who you don’t follow on the app have viewed your story. You can see who these people are by clicking on their names and checking out their profile.

Article continues after ad

If people who don’t follow you have viewed your story, it probably means that your story is public. If you don’t want random people to view your content on Snapchat, you are able to change your privacy settings from within the app.

To change who can view your Snapchat story, simply do as follows:

  1. Open Snapchat.
  2. Click your profile in the top left corner.
  3. Click on settings in the top right.
  4. Scroll down to ‘Privacy controls,’ and click ‘View my story.’
  5. Change to ‘My friends,’ or ‘Custom’ to block specific people.
Snapchat logo on yellow backgroundUnsplash: Alexander Shatov
Some Snapchat users have reported an “other Snapchatters” glitch which is affecting their Friends list.

“Other Snapchatters” glitch on Snapchat

The “other Snapchatters” feature on Snapchat can tell you which unknown users are watching your content. However, some are reporting a glitch in which their ‘Friends’ are being listed as “other Snapchatters.”

This could also be an indication that you’ve been unfollowed or blocked by Snapchatters who don’t want you to know about their identity. Yet, some disputed the theory.

Article continues after ad

For instance, Reddit-user Loa19 reported: “My friend is coming up as “other Snapchatters” on my story. They’re still my friend, I can see their score, I can send them snaps, I am sharing my location etc. […]I know them in person and they can confirm they have not unfriended me either.”

There’s been no official word from Snapchat on how to fix the problem, as of writing. Yet, various Snapchatters claimed the bug didn’t affect their Snapscore or any other Friends features so believed it was “nothing to worry about.”

Snapchat can sometimes be a confusing place, but we’ve also got guides to help you figure out whether someone has blocked you, how to make your Snapchat profile public, how to make a private story, and to decipher what different emojis mean when appearing next to someone’s username.

Article continues after ad