How to watch Ludwig’s $1m Smash invitational: Dates, stream & details

Ludwig has announced the Smash Invitational with a $1 million prizeInstagram: Ludwig, Twitter: Nintendo

Streamer Ludwig Ahgren has announced the biggest Smash invitational of all time. Here’s how to watch or even enter if you’re up to it.

Super Smash Bros remains one of the biggest esports in the world, having produced some of the biggest stars in the gaming world.

Although he is better known for his subathons and other content, Ludwig got his start as a competitive Melee player and has been organizing competitive Smash tournaments since 2018.

Article continues after ad

For his next big event, Ludwig is going back to his roots as he has recently announced the “biggest Smash invitational” tournament ever with $1 million in prize money up for grabs. Here is how and when you can get in on the action.

How to watch Ludwig’s Smash invitational


The Ludwig Smash Invitational will take place on October 21 and will run through October 23, 2022 with the last chance qualifier (LCQ) being on Friday. For those who finish among the top eight in the LCQ, flight and accommodation costs will be reimbursed by the organizers.

Article continues after ad


Ludwig will be hosting the tournament live in Las Vegas, but he will also be streaming the event live on his YouTube channel. Visit when the tournament is going on to catch all the action.

Sign up to Dexerto for free and receive
Fewer Ads|Dark Mode|Deals in Gaming, TV and Movies, and Tech


Ludwig teased that the Smash Invitational will feature 32 Melee players and 32 Ultimate players competing. Although it’s unclear the exact format, Ludwig did tease some of the pro players and streamers who would be participating.

Melee Players:

Article continues after ad
  • William Peter ‘Leffen’ Hjelte
  • Jake ‘Jmook’ DiRado
  • Cody ‘iBDW’ Schwab
  • Juan ‘Hungrybox’ Debiedma
  • Justin ‘Wizzrobe’ Hallett
  • Zain Naghmi
  • Joseph Manuel ‘Mang0’ Marquez

Ultimate players:

  • Kolawole ‘Kola’ Aideyan
  • Paris ‘Light’ Ramirez Garcia
  • William ‘Glutonny’ Belaid
  • Leonardo ‘MkLeo’ Lopez Perez
  • Angel ‘Onin’ Mireles
  • Michael ‘Riddles’ Kim
  • Gavin ‘Tweek’ Dempsey

We will update this article as more information about the Ludwig Smash Invitational becomes available.