Rocket League announce online $300k Spring Series tournament - Dexerto
Rocket League

Rocket League announce online $300k Spring Series tournament

Published: 30/Mar/2020 10:45 Updated: 30/Mar/2020 13:13

by Jacob Hale

Share


Psyonix has officially announced a $300,000 Rocket League Spring Series tournament, providing major competition across the top four regions starting in April.

Most major sports and esports leagues have had to be put on hold due to the ongoing global crisis, with LAN tournaments simply not worth the risk. While that means a lot of tournaments have been postponed, Rocket League has actually announced one that will be going ahead despite surrounding issues.

Though the tournament will be held online, it’s still offering a solid prize pool split to each of the four regions participating, and should keep fans’ thirst satiated while awaiting a major LAN, especially after the cancellation of the Season 9 World Championship.

Psyonix
The World Championship event had to be canceled due to concerns over the current crisis.

The Rocket League Spring Series is a compilation of tournaments across North America, Europe, Oceania, and South America, spanning two days each with some of the world’s best teams competing.

Format and Prizing

As explained by Rocket League Esports, here are the key formatting takeaways for the Rocket League Spring Series:

  • Eight total teams per tournament
  • The top four teams from each region’s Season 9 Regional Championship will auto-qualify and have preferential seeding
  • The remaining four spots will be filled by Open Qualifiers held before each tournament
  • Each tournament will feature a double-elimination bracket played out over two days of action
  • All matches will be Best-of-5, except for the Loser’s Bracket Finals, Winner’s Bracket Finals, and Grand Finals, which will be Best-of-7

The prize pool for each region will be as follows:

  • Europe: $125,000
  • North America: $125,000
  • Oceania: $50,000
  • South America: $50,000

This somewhat makes up for the players’ inability to compete at the World Championship, where life-changing sums of cash could have been won.

Psyonix
The biggest teams in Rocket League will be looking to prove themselves in their respective region.

Rocket League Spring Series dates

Rather than playing across one weekend, each region will play their own tournament on a separate weekend, including individual Open Qualifiers on top of the main Spring Series tournament.

Each event will be viewable through Rocket League’s Twitch and YouTube channels on the following dates:

  • South America: Open Qualifiers on April 14-15, Spring Series on April 18-19 (show begins at 7:30 am PDT/10:30 am EDT/3:30 pm BST each day)
  • North America: Open Qualifiers on April 21-22, Spring Series on April 25-26 (show begins at 11:30 am PDT/2:30 pm EDT/7:30 pm BST each day)
  • Oceania: Open Qualifiers on April 28-29, Spring Series on May 2-3 (show begins at 6:30 pm PDT/9:30 pm EDT/2:30 am BST each day)
  • Europe: Open Qualifiers on May 5-6, Spring Series on May 9-10 (show begins at 8:30 am PDT/11:30 am EDT/4:30 pm BST each day)

The Spring Series will attempt to make up for some of the lost efforts of the Season 9 World Championship, though it is not yet known if/when that will take place given the current uncertainty around events such as these.

Regardless, this is a significant step from Psyonix to keep the ball rolling, and at least gives fans something new to look forward to.

Rocket League

Psyonix responds to Rocket League Season 1 Tournament Challenge concerns

Published: 12/Nov/2020 0:42

by Alex Tsiaoussidis

Share


Rocket League Season 1 is underway, but many players felt like Tournament Challenges were too difficult. Fortunately, Psyonix responded quickly and made them easier.

Rocket League has developed in leaps and bounds since it’s release back in 2015. The player-base has increased exponentially since the game became free-to-play, and the competitive scene is alive and well.

Rocket League’s fun and unique gameplay are what draws players in. However, Psyonix has always been pro-active and implemented player feedback into the game, which keeps them coming back.

Rocket League Season 1 Tournament Challenges
Psyonix
It’s hard to find a game that mixes genres as well as Rocket League.

Still, that process has to start somewhere, and it often happens when enough players voice their opinions on social media. In recent weeks, Psyonix has been rocked with a wave of concerns about two Rocket League Season 1 Tournament Challenges. 

The first one is the Stage 2 Challenge ‘Make It To The Quarter Finals In 4 Psyonix Scheduled Tournaments’. The consensus was that this was too difficult, at least for most casual players.

“Can we talk about the Season Challenges Stage 2 task which requires us to make it to Quarter Finals 4 times?” wrote one player. “I think it’s not okay to tie this to performance and making it to quarterfinals.” 

“This ruins the fun for me, and since it’s a free challenge, we NEED to perform it,” he added. It was one of several threads on the issue. However, it was upvoted more than 150 times and sparked a discussion with 100 comments.

Rocket League Season 1 Tournament Challenges
Psyonix
Rocket League tournaments are arguably the game’s most intense mode.

The second one is the Stage 3 Challenge ‘Get 200 Assists in Online Matches.’ Again, players felt like this was too difficult to achieve. But this time, it was more about how long it took to do.

“I don’t think it’s possible for me to get 200 assists,” said one player, who called for a petition to remove it. “It took me half the season to get 40. I’m sure [there are] people also in the same boat. I guess I just think it’s [a] ridiculous number to hit in half a season.”

Rocket League Season 1 Tournament Challenges
Psyonix
Assists in Rocket League are almost as important as goals.

Fortunately, Psyonix heard and have already responded. “After seeing your feedback over the last few weeks about some of the Season 1 Challenges, we’ve decided to make two changes,” they said.

The first challenge has now been changed to ‘Play in 4 Psyonix Scheduled Tournaments.’ This means players only need to compete in four tournaments rather than make four quarter-finals.

The second challenge has also been changed to ‘Get 50 Assists in Online Matches.’ That means the number of assists has been decreased from 200 down to 50, which takes a quarter of the time to do.

Rocket League Season 1 Tournament Challenges
Psyonix
Psyonix have already made two of the Rocket League Season 1 Challenges easier.

“These changes are live now,” they said. “If you don’t see them live in your game just yet, please restart and they should appear as intended.”

Rocket League players are thrilled with the changes. But perhaps more importantly, they’re content knowing that Psyonix always seems to have their back in the end, although it can take a bit of time.