Rocket League

New Heatseeker LTM announced for Rocket League - release date & details

by Connor Bennett
Psyonix

Share


Psyonix have announced that Rocket League will be getting an all-new limited-time mode called Heatseeker, and here’s everything you need to know about it. 

Rocket League may have released back in 2015, but the highly entertaining car football game is still going strong to this day – with Psyonix dropping a tonne of new content on a regular basis. 

The developers have done plenty of crossovers for cosmetics with pop culture icons like The Fast and Furious, Harry Potter, and even the WWE, but they’ve also dropped new modes from time to time. These have put a spin on the typical ‘Soccar’ mode – with Snow Day using a puck instead of a ball and Hoops playing like Basketball, not Soccer. Though, there is a new LTM coming to town. 

Psyonix
Rocket League balances entertainment with action pretty well.

Advertisement

Psyonix announced that they will be releasing Heatseeker on Thursday, April 16 – and it sounds like it is going to be a blazing-fast mode. In Heatseeker, once a player touches the ball, it will immediately aim directly for the opposing goal – no matter where you end up hitting it from. If it is deflected back, it will change course and head directly for your goal.

 Yet, each time a player hits the ball – or if someone manages to hit it off the backboard – the ball will gather pace and ping around the map.

There is no time limit in Heatseeker, however, as it is just the first team to score seven goals wins. So, if you blink, you might end up finding yourself headed back to the pre-game lobby and searching for another match. 

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RtzF14VhD9o

Advertisement

Rocket League Heatseeker LTM release and end date

As already noted, Heatseeker will be a limited-time mode that is only available for a few days before it exits Rocket League. 

The mode will go live on Thursday, April 16 at 9 am PDT/12 pm EDT/5 pm BST and 6 pm CEST. It will stay in Rocket League until Monday, April 20 where it will then depart the game at the same times. 

Advertisement

Just jumping into Rocket League while Heatseeker is live will also mean that you unlock a special Hypnoteks Player Banner that you can add to your collection of cosmetics. 

You’ll also earn the same amount of XP in Heatseeker as a normal match so you’re not missing out on leveling up if you choose to dedicate your time to the LTM while it is live.