Rainbow Six launches new MUTE Protocol event & arcade game mode - Dexerto
Rainbow Six

Rainbow Six launches new MUTE Protocol event & arcade game mode

Published: 4/Aug/2020 2:46

by Andrew Amos


Rainbow Six has been thrown into the future with a new event titled M.U.T.E. Protocol. A new arcade playlist on Tower has been released, as well as over 20 sci-fi cosmetics for eight operators.

Siege’s Tower is getting a futuristic facelift in the latest limited-time game mode. The M.U.T.E. Protocol event has arrived, and it apparently marks the “final battle…[of] the war between attackers and defenders.”

It sounds a bit over-the-top, but that’s exactly what the Y5S2 arcade playlist is. Set in a near future ⁠— although the event does state “Tower 2020” ⁠— M.U.T.E. Protocol will include more than just a new game mode, but also new cosmetics you can get your hands on.

The M.U.T.E. Protocol game mode is a new spin on Secure Area, one of the three base game modes in Siege. It plays out like a regular Secure Area game on Tower ⁠— attackers will be trying to get into one of the four select sites, while defenders will be doing all they can to stop them.

However, like every arcade playlist, there’s a twist. M.U.T.E. Protocol features a new ‘morphing’ feature that allows players to swap forms. Attackers will be able to morph into Drones, while defenders will be able to ‘ride’ through bulletproof cameras they set up like teleporters.

Because of the nature of the game mode, some operators have been disabled. All of the camera operators on defense ⁠— Mozzie, Maestro, Valkyrie, and Echo ⁠— and Twitch on attack have been removed. Thatcher, and somewhat ironically Mute, are also disabled due to their intel denial capabilities. Dokkaebi, Goyo, Clash, Montagne, Blitz, Caveria are absent too.

Much like the Grand Larceny event earlier in Year 5, there will also be special cosmetics on offer. Uniforms for Jackal, Lion, Ying, Kapkan, Mira, Mute, Oryx, and Vigil will be available.

Ying, Lion, and Jackal's MUTE Protocol Uniforms
Ying, Lion, and Jackal (L-R) are all getting cyberpunk-esque skins in the M.U.T.E. Protocol event.

With Y5S3 potentially just around the corner, the M.U.T.E. Protocol event could be the last hurrah for the season. While there are limited details out about the next update, leaks have pointed fingers at a Splinter Cell-inspired operator and a rework for Skyscraper.

The M.U.T.E. Protocol event will kick off on August 4. It will run for two weeks until August 17, so get in quick if you want to play one of the more interesting arcade game modes in Siege.

Rainbow Six

How to upgrade Rainbow Six to next-gen PS5 and Xbox Series X consoles

Published: 26/Nov/2020 2:01 Updated: 26/Nov/2020 2:12

by Andrew Amos


Rainbow Six: Siege is hitting the next-gen PS5 and Xbox Series X consoles on December 1. If you’re looking to make the jump, here’s exactly what you need to do to upgrade. The best part is, it’s totally free.

Every title is trying to make the jump to the PlayStation 5 and the Xbox Series X and S consoles. The next generation is here ⁠— just in time for Christmas ⁠— and while grabbing some new games is always high on the list, old favorites shouldn’t be left behind.

If you’ve picked up a copy of Rainbow Six: Siege for the PS4 or Xbox One, you’ll be able to make the jump to the next-gen consoles on December 1. Here’s how you can upgrade.

Rainbow Six Siege Neon Dawn
Get ready to jump into Siege on the PS5 and Xbox Series X, starting December 1.

How to upgrade Rainbow Six Siege to PS5 and Xbox Series X|S

If you own a copy of Rainbow Six on PS4 or Xbox One, you can upgrade to the PS5 and Xbox Series X consoles for free ⁠— providing that you upgrade to a console in the same family.

That means the upgrade won’t work if you go from the Xbox One to PS5, or the PS4 to the Xbox Series X. Also, if you own a physical version of Rainbow Six, you won’t be able to transfer to discless consoles.

From there, it’s as simple as linking your console to Ubisoft Connect, downloading the game again, and jumping right into the action. Here’s a full step by step list of what you need to do.

  1. Link your Ubisoft Connect account to your Xbox or PlayStation account here.
  2. Log onto your console and download Rainbow Six Siege (or insert your physical disc).
  3. Launch the game.
Operation Neon Dawn header for Rainbow Six Siege
The launch of Rainbow Six on next-gen consoles on December 1 will likely align with the release of Operation Neon Dawn.

Rainbow Six cross-play and cross-progression confirmed

Once you upgrade your console, you won’t have to start from scratch. Ubisoft have confirmed that Rainbow Six will not only have cross-progression, but also cross-play between console generations.

You’ll keep all your progress, including Operators, in-game items, stats, and more, and you’ll also be able to play with friends if they don’t make the jump to next-gen just yet.

However, cross-play and cross-progression won’t be coming to PC in the near future. While Ubisoft aims on implementing it for the PS5 and Xbox Series X down the line, they will not be available on launch.