Pokemon

First Gen 5 species coming to Pokemon Go revealed

by Paul Cotton

Share


Week 3 of the Pokemon Go Ultra Bonus Challenge will go live later today (September 16) bringing in the much anticipated addition of Gen 5.

Trainers have been enjoying the rewards of the Ultra Bonus Challenge as a result of completing the field research task milestones throughout the summer. The bonuses have been spread out over three separate weeks and we now approach the final week, which is arguably the most exciting of all.

The first two weeks provided new shiny Pokemon, Johto legends and even Deoxys in normal raid battles. While these were excellent bonuses in their own right, there's little doubt the main event of the Ultra Bonus Challenge is the introduction of generation 5.


Week 3: A Unova Unveiling

The third week will run from September 16, 1pm PDT (4pm EDT and 9pm BST) to September 23, 1pm PDT (4pm EDT and 9pm BST).

Which Unova Pokemon are coming?

Niantic have been relatively coy about which Pokemon will be included in the Gen 5 unveiling, until now. The official Pokemon Go Twitter has shared which Pokemon will be added and where you can find them.

@PokemonGoApp
@PokemonGoApp
Snivy was the first Unova Pokemon to be teased...


Wild spawns

The following "and more" will be available to catch in the Pokemon Go wild:

  • Snivy
  • Tepig
  • Oshawott
  • Patrat
  • Lillipup
  • Purrloin
  • Pidove
  • Blitzle

Raids

There is some overlap between wild spawns and those who will be featured in raid battles. The shiny form for all three of these is also available:

  • Patrat
  • Lillipup
  • Klink



Eggs

The following Unova Pokemon can be obtained via egg hatches:

  • 2 km Eggs: Patrat, Lillipup, Purrloin, Pidove
  • 5 km Eggs: Snivy, Tepig, Oshawott, Blitzle, Drilbur, Foongus
  • 10 km Eggs: Ferroseed, Klink, Litwick, Golett, Deino

Regional exclusives

Finally, some Pokemon will only be found in some regions:

  • Asia-Pacific: Pansage, the Grass Monkey Pokémon
  • Europe, the Middle East, Africa, and India: Pansear, the High Temp Pokémon
  • The Americas and Greenland: Panpour, the Spray Pokémon
  • Western hemisphere: Heatmor, the Anteater Pokémon
  • Eastern hemisphere: Durant, the Iron Ant Pokémon


Keep hatching those eggs

The ongoing egg hatch bonuses continues until the end of Week 3 of the Ultra Bonus Challenge. Along with other bonuses, it is a great time to hatch as many eggs as possible.