Pokemon Go GO Battle League Season 4: Dates, rewards, what's new - Dexerto

Pokemon Go GO Battle League Season 4: Dates, rewards, what’s new

Published: 14/Sep/2020 14:08 Updated: 14/Sep/2020 14:12

by Paul Cot


Pokemon Go’s GO Battle League Season 4 is upon us. Here’s everything you need to know about the fourth season from the dates and times each league starts, what rewards are on offer, and what’s new.

Before we move ahead to Season 4 though, there have been a lot of questions about rewards in the current season. The end-of-season rewards aren’t distributed until Season 4 begins.


Season 4 starts on Monday, September 14, 1pm PDT (4pm EDT and 9pm BST). Any rewards you are owed can be found on the Battle Screen. If you reached Rank 7 or higher, then you’ll have an Elite Charged TM waiting for you.

GO Battle Season 4
Times flies when you’re having fun – GO Battle League Season 4 is here!

Schedule – League dates

As has been the case with all previous seasons in GO Battle League, each of the Great, Ultra, and Master Leagues become available at different dates. The schedule for all three leagues and the inaugural Halloween Cup are as follows:

  • Great League: Monday, September 14, 1pm PDT to Monday, September 28, 1pm PDT
  • Ultra League: Monday, September 28, 1pm PDT to Monday, October 12, 1pm PDT – alongside its Premier Cup
  • Master League: Monday, October 12, 1pm PDT to Monday, October 26, 1pm PDT – alongside its Premier Cup
  • Halloween Cup: Monday, October 26, 1pm PDT to Tuesday, November 3, 1pm PDT

In the Halloween Cup, only bug, dark, fairy, ghost, and poison-type Pokemon will be eligible. It will have a CP limit of 1,500.

Some of the rewards you can earn include encounters with Bulbasaur, Charmander, and Squirtle wearing Halloween costumes.


The rewards will be the same as of that from Season 3. The only difference will be the at the end of season where, if you reach Rank 7, you will be gifted an Elite Fast TM as opposed to the charged one.


The full list of Pokemon encounters are as follows:

  • Pidgeot: Starting at Rank 1
  • Galarian Zigzagoon: Starting at Rank 4
  • Rufflet: Starting at Rank 8
  • Scraggy: Starting at Rank 9
  • Pikachu Libre: Starting at Rank 10
Pikachu Libre Reward
Reach Rank 10 and you’ll earn an encounter with Pikachu Libre…

What’s new?

The most notable addition to Season 4 is the change in Rank Progression. Rank 2 can be achieved by simply completing a certain number of battles.

Conversely, Ranks 3 through 9 are earned by winning a certain number of battles. However, to reach Rank 10, you’ll still need to attain a rating of 3,000.


Other changes include the fact that Stardust can now be earned as a reward while in Ranks 1 to 3. You continue earning Stardust in Ranks 4 to 10 but can also earn TMs and a Raid Pass, too.

One thing that is remaining the same though, to the delight of Pokemon Go trainers everywhere, is there will be no walking requirement for Season 4. It has yet to be announced if it will return for Season 5 – let’s hope it doesn’t.


With the fifth season still several weeks away, not a lot is known about it. However, it has been confirmed it will be much shorter than previous seasons with a total duration of three weeks. It begins on Monday, November 9, 1pm PST.


Pokemon Go Autumn event – Start time, new Gen 5 Pokemon, bonuses, more

Published: 8/Oct/2020 1:57 Updated: 8/Oct/2020 1:59

by Paul Cot


To celebrate the change of season, Niantic is hosting an autumn-themed Pokemon Go event. A new Gen 5 Pokemon will be introduced as well as other bonuses.

The 2020 Pokemon Go autumn event starts on Friday, October 9, 8 am PDT and finishes on Monday, October 12, 1 pm PDT. That’s an 11 am EDT start for those on the east coast of the US and 4 pm BST for those residing in the UK.


To the surprise of nobody, the event will feature various fall-themed Pokemon. These ‘mons can be found in the wild and in eggs when you hatch them.

Double effective Berries

Elsewhere, autumn is the time harvest and that seemingly applies to Pokemon Go, too. As a result, Berries can be found more often when spinning PokeStops. There will also be berry-themed Field and Timed Research.


During the event, all Berries will be twice as effective when giving them to your Buddy Pokemon as treats. Perhaps more excitingly, however, is that Pinap Berries will also become doubly as effective.

This means that instead of just double Candy when capturing a Pokemon, you’ll actually get four times the amount! Other Berries such as the Razz variety won’t be doubly as effective, though.

Autumn-themed Pokemon

Meanwhile, the following Pokemon will be appearing more frequently in the wild:

  • Oddish
  • Vulpix
  • Bayleef
  • Hoothoot
  • Sudowoodo
  • Yanma
  • Pineco
  • Zigzagoon
  • Seedot
  • Shroomish
  • Plant Cloak Burmy
  • Foongus

Others will be appearing in 5km eggs but those Pokemon weren’t released in the Pokemon Go blog post.

Additionally, Shiny Vulpix will be spawning more often. The ever-popular Fox Pokemon has already had its Shiny form released previously but few trainers will want to miss out on the chance to get another or even their first!

Deerling Pokemon Go
Deerling changes color depending on what seasonal form it is…


As is very apt for the change of season, Deerling will be introduced to the world of Pokemon Go for the first time. The Season Pokemon has four forms – Spring, Summer, Autumn, and Winter – so expect to come across its autumn variant.


It evolves into Sawsbuck, which has the same four forms, also. Deerling needs 50 Candy to evolve, so if you want to get Sawsbuck during the event you’ll need to catch as many Deerling as possible. When using a Pinap Berry though, you’ll only need to catch five of them!

There’s plenty to look forward to in Pokemon Go during October. Charmander is coming to a Community Day a second time with the exclusive move Dragon Breath and there is even a surprise Raid Boss to look forward to at the end of the month.