San Francisco Shock sign star DPS Rascal for Overwatch League Season Two - Dexerto

San Francisco Shock sign star DPS Rascal for Overwatch League Season Two

Published: 26/Sep/2018 20:21 Updated: 5/Mar/2019 16:17

by Joe O'Brien


The San Francisco Shock have announced the addition of Kim ‘Rascal’ Dong-jun to their Overwatch League roster.

[ad name=”article1″]

Rascal had previously been playing for NRG Esports, the Shock Academy team competing in Contenders NA, after having left the Overwatch League mid-way through Season One.

Rascal’s ill-fated first season in the league began on London Spitfire. Though Rascal was touted as one of the most talented DPS players in the league, competing alongside the likes of Park ‘Profit’ Jun-young and Kim ‘Birdring’ Ji-hyeok meant Rascal saw less stage time than a player of his calibre might have deserved.


As a result, in the mid-season signing window Rascal was traded to the Dallas Fuel. Unfortunately, his move to the Fuel came at an inopportune time, as the team was heading towards its lowest point of the season. The move ultimately didn’t work out for either party, and Rascal departed the Fuel and the league.

[ad name=”article2″]

Rascal was picked up by NRG Esports for Season Two of Overwatch Contenders NA, in which the team ultimately finished 3rd/4th after a narrow loss to XL2 Academy in the semi-finals. Now, Rascal is set to make his Overwatch League return with a move to the main Shock roster.


The move marks San Francisco’s second roster addition in the post-season, having also traded Dante ‘Danteh’ Cruz to the Houston Outlaws in return for main tank Yoo ‘Smurf’ Myeong-hwan from GG Esports Academy, the Outlaws’ Contenders team.

With San Francisco one of several teams now featuring more than the minimum eight players, the Shock do not need to make further additions before Season Two. If they wish to target free agents, they’ll have to wait until after the exclusive signing window for expansion teams closes on October 7.

[ad name=”article3″]

San Francisco Shock’s full roster:

  • Andrej ‘babybay’ Francisty
  • Matthew ‘super’ DeLisi
  • Nikola ‘sleepy’ Andrews
  • Jay ‘sinatraa’ Won
  • Andreas ‘nevix’ Karlsson
  • Park ‘Architect’ Min-ho
  • Grant ‘moth’ Espe
  • Choi ‘ChoiHyoBin’ Hyo-bin
  • Yoo ‘Smurf’ Myeong-hwan
  • Kim ‘Rascal’ Dong-jun