Call of Duty CS:GO Fortnite Overwatch PUBG Entertainment Dexerto TV Contact
Archive • Sep 18, 2017

ELEAGUE Showcase Incredible New Eye Tracking Software

The ELEAGUE CS:GO Premier analyst desk used their eye tracking software to show fnatic player Jesper 'JW' Wecksell's eye movements. ELEAGUE CS:GO Premier is a $1,000,000 tournament that began on the 8th of September and will run until the 12th of October, and is being hosted in the G FUEL Arena in Atlanta, Georgia. A total of sixteen teams have entered the competition and through a double elimination group stage, the line up is being reduced to eight before heading into the playoffs. FaZe Clan, G2 Esports, North, and fnatic have all secured their spots in the finals, and now they wait for the results from the remaining two groups.

As Group B concluded, fnatic faced Immortals in a final best-of-three series and the analyst desk broke down the AWP player JW's play style using their eye tracking software. The software tracks where on the screen players are looking and this can be used to understand how many individual pieces of information a player must process and take notice of as they play. In the latest segment called 'Getting technical', the software was used to analyse JW's eye movements on the map, Train. Train's A bombsite has many various angles and the software shows how quickly the AWP player must flick between them all to check for opponents as he watches the site.

Anders 'Anders' Blume, a commentator and analyst at ELEAGUE recognized a potential use for the new software as a tool to track players response times. He also mentioned that deeper points about the game can be revealed, especially for AWPers. AWP players are required to have a fast reaction time, they often have a chance at a single shot, if they miss or are too slow, they will be incredibly vulnerable. Some players counter their slower reaction time by holding specific angles, whereas those with faster reactions can flick to angles when opponents appear at them. Anders stated the tool will reveal which of those two categories players belong to. x x ELEAGUE is now preparing for Group C where teams Cloud9, Ninjas in Pyjamas, Virtus.pro and EnVyUs will compete for two spots in the playoffs. The first match up of the group will be on the 22nd of September and will see Virtus.pro face EnVyUs. The match is set to begin at 23:00 BST (15:00 PST, 18:00 EST, 8:00 AEST).
Image credit: HLTV
x

Dexerto Latest

We use cookies on this website to improve your experience. Please visit our privacy and cookies policy for more information.