Invictus Gaming are the 2018 League of Legends World Champions

Invictus Gaming are the 2018 League of Legends World Champions.

[ad name=”article1″]

Invictus took down Fnatic in a convincing 3-0 sweep to claim the Summoner’s Cup.

The LPL squad came out swinging in game one, a swift victory in 26 minutes to set the tone for the series.

Carrying their momentum through to game two, Invictus claimed early control once again. Though Fnatic managed to stall out for slightly longer, the game was never going in their favor and Invictus eventually closed it out for a 2-0 lead.

[ad name=”article2″]

The third game saw changes for Fnatic, subbing in Paul ‘sOAZ’ Boyer in the top lane and switching to red side for the first time. An early first blood for the European side made for a closer early game, but Invictus were quick to turn things in their favor once more.

Article continues after ad

A heroic baron steal by Mads ‘Broxah’ Brock-Pedersen helped Fnatic extend the game, but ultimately it wasn’t enough to stave off Invictus, who completed the sweep to become World Champions.

Invictus are the first Chinese team to win a World Championship. China has sent teams to the grand finals twice in the past – Royal Club in both 2013 and 2014 – but Invictus are the first LPL representative to actually claim the trophy.

[ad name=”article3″]

2018 Worlds final placements:

  • 1 – Invictus Gaming
  • 2 – Fnatic
  • 3/4 – Cloud9
  • 3/4 – G2 Esports
  • 5/8 – KT Rolster
  • 5/8 – EDward Gaming
  • 5/8 – Afreeca Freecs
  • 5/8 – Royal Never Give Up
  • 9/12 – Team Vitality
  • 9/12 – Flash Wolves
  • 9/12 – Team Liquid
  • 9/12 – 100 Thieves
  • 13/16 – Gen.G Esports
  • 13/16 – Phong Vu Buffalo
  • 13/16 – MAD Team
  • 13/16 – G-Rex