League of Legends

How to watch $125k Twitch Rivals Teamfight Tactics Showdown - Players, schedule, more

by Joe O'Brien

Share


Riot Games are celebrating the launch of Teamfight Tactics ranked mode with a $125k Twitch Rivals tournament featuring 64 of the game’s top players and streamers.


Update: July 18

Day one of the Twitch Rivals Teamfight Tactics Showdown is in the books, and some of the big names were unable to make it to the second day. With $100,000 already given out, you can check out the full results from day one here.

Teamfight Tactics is Riot Games' take on the autobattler genre popularized by Auto Chess, and sees players build teams of League of Legends champions to face off against enemies.

Unlike in League of Legends itself, however, Teamfight Tactics involves no mechanical skill, with battles instead determined by factors like the composition, items, and champion levels of team you field.

Teamfight Tactics is due to get a ranked mode in the next major update, Patch 9.14, that will allow TFT players to really test how good they are at the game, and Riot are celebrating the feature’s launch by joining up with Twitch to put on the biggest tournament the game has seen yet.

Riot Games
Riot Games

When is the Teamfight Tactics Showdown?

The Twitch Rivals Teamfight Tactics tournament is set to take place on July 17-18, with the first day kicking off at 10 AM PDT/ 1 PM EDT/ 6 PM BST for the morning bracket and an afternoon bracket kicking off at 2:45 PM PDT/ 5:45 PM EDT/ 10:45 PM BST.

The tournament will be streamed on the Twitch Rivals channel, but fans can also tune in directly to any of the participants’ channels, so you can keep track of your favorite player’s games when they’re not being featured or listen in on the thought process of the top players.


Teamfight Tactics Showdown format

On day one of the tournament, the players will be separated into two 32-player brackets, the first of which will take place on the morning of July 17 and the second in the afternoon. Each bracket will play five matches, and $100,000 will be given away on day one based on the results of those matches.

The top eight players from each bracket will advance to day two, with $20,000 on the line over four games in a round-robin format. The top eight players will again advance to a single, final match for which the last $5,000 will be awarded directly to the winner.

Twitch have now revealed the groups for the first day of the competition, so you can see when your favorite players will be competing and who they'll be facing off against.

In particular, it looks like Lobby One of Group B will be one to watch out for, as it features three of the top five players from Pokimane's TFT tournament in DisguisedToast, Hafu, and Reckful. Meanwhile, Team Liquid's Dog, who won that competition, and third-place finisher TidesOfTime, will face off in Lobby Two of Group B.

Twitch
Twitch
Twitch
Twitch


Who are the favorites for the Teamfight Tactics showdown?

It’s early days in the lifespan of Teamfight Tactics, but already some players have begun to establish themselves as the game’s elite.

Pokimane hosted the first Teamfight Tactics tournament on July 4, and many of the same players will be competing once again in the Teamfight Tactics Showdown, including Team Liquid Hearthstone pro Dog, who won the tournament.

The rest of the top four from that competition are also worth looking out for, with runner-up Disguised Toast, third-place finisher TidesofTime, and fourth-placed Hafu, who during the PBE phase was the highest-ranked player, also competing.


Full list of Twitch Rivals Teamfight Tactics Showdown players

Below can be seen a full list off all of the players competing in the Twitch Rivals TFT Showdown along with links to their Twitch channels so you can tune into their perspective during the tournament.

Last updated: July 16, 2019 - 3:45 AM EST