Call of Duty CS:GO Fortnite League of Legends Overwatch Apex Entertainment FIFA Dota2 Smash PUBG World of Warcraft Pokemon Opinion Gaming Dexerto TV About Contact
 
Gears of War • Jul 14, 2018

Gears Pro Circuit NOLA Day One Pool Play Roundup - Upsets Galore as Ghost Gaming, EU's Finest Struggle in Groups

Gears Pro Circuit NOLA Day One Pool Play Roundup - Upsets Galore as Ghost Gaming, EU's Finest Struggle in Groups

Day One of the Gears Pro Circuit New Orleans Open has come to a close with a collection of surprising results after a full slate of competition.

Held at the Ernest Morial Convention Center in New Orleans, Illinois, the Gears Pro Circuit NOLA Open boasts a $250,000 prize pool over the course of the three-day major LAN event.

Advertisement

Although they came off a win at the Gears Vegas Open in April, Ghost Gaming kicked off their Gears NOLA run with a tough loss to Fable EU in the first match of Pool Play, which seemingly set the tone for the roster going forward.

Ghost ended up finishing the day with a disappointing 0-2 finish after they fell in devastating 7-6, 7-6 fashion to eUnited, who ended with two massive wins in Group B.

Advertisement

OpTic Gaming, in Group A, and Rise Nation, in Group D, were the only two other teams in Pool Play that managed to end Friday with 2-0 records, with Rise taking down EUsFinest - a team which many thought could potentially take the event.

Finally, Echo Fox, with the addition of KennyBounce and Icy, appeared to start their Gears NOLA run strong win over OpTic Mexico, in Group C. Elevate ended up losing to OpTic MX, who finished 1-1 on the day.

Advertisement

Day two will be the first opportunity for the four Open Bracket teams - Nimbus Esports, Lucent Esports, Vertacon, and Bittersweet - to prove their worth in Pool Play, and potentially qualify for the Championship Bracket.

Saturday of Gears NOLA will kick off at 10:00 AM CT (8AM PST, 11 AM EST, 4 PM BST) with Rise Nation taking on Bitterweet on Mainstage.

NEW from Dexerto: Why 100 Thieves is the hottest brand in esports right now: