Destiny 2 Witch Queen Raid: Release date, Pyramid Ship location, Power level, & more

. 4 months ago
Bungie

With The Witch Queen expansion comes an entirely new Destiny 2 Raid set amid Savathun’s Throne World. As the ultimate PVE challenge, Guardians are raring to go so here’s an early rundown on when it goes live and what you can expect inside the Pyramid Ship as players take on the Vow of the Disciple.

Raids have long been the pinnacle of Destiny’s PVE experience, and with the highly anticipated Witch Queen expansion now in full swing, Fireteams will soon have a new end-game activity to tear through.

Savathun has finally taken center stage, and while we won’t spoil anything here, us Guardians are still no closer to learning the secrets that await inside the Vow of the Disciple Raid.

What we do know, is that Fireteams are set to enter a Pyramid Ship and face the mysterious threats within. Before gearing up though, it’s worth getting ahead of the curve with a full look at every little detail we have on the upcoming Witch Queen Raid in Destiny 2.

Contents

Destiny 2 gameplay
Bungie
Savathun’s greatest challenge could await in the Witch Queen Raid.

Destiny 2 Witch Queen Raid: Release date & launch time

The Destiny 2 Witch Queen Raid is set to unlock on Saturday, March 5. Below is exactly when the new Vow of the Disciple Raid goes live around the globe:

Time zone Release time
Pacific Time Mar 5 – 10:00 AM PT
Central Time Mar 5 – 12:00 PM CT
Eastern Time Mar 5 – 1:00 PM ET
Colombia Time Mar 5 – 1:00 PM  COT
Brasilia Time Mar 5 – 3:00 PM  BRT
Greenwich Mean Time Mar 5 – 6:00 PM GMT
Central European Time Mar 5 – 7:00 PM CET
Eastern European Time Mar 5 -8:00 PM EET
South Africa Standard Time Mar 5 – 8:00 PM SAST
Moscow Standard Time Mar 5 – 9:00 PM MSK
Arabia Standard Time Mar 5 – 9:00 PM AST
Gulf Standard Time Mar 5 – 10:00 PM GST
UTC+7 Mar 6 – 1:00 AM UTC+7
UTC+8 Mar 6 –  2:00 AM UTC+8
Korea Standard Time Mar 6 – 3:00 AM KST
Japan Standard Time Mar 6 – 3:00 AM JST
Australian Eastern Daylight Time Mar 6 – 5:00 AM AEDT
New Zealand Daylight Time Mar 6 – 7:00 AM NZDT

As always, those competing in the World First race will be looking to start immediately. Make sure your Fireteam is in orbit and frequently checking for the new Raid to appear at the appropriate time.

Destiny 2 Witch Queen Raid race

As soon as the Vow of the Disciple Raid goes live, so too does the highly-anticipated Raid race. No different from usual, top Destiny 2 Fireteams have been gearing up all week to try and make some history.

With a 24 hour window for competition, Destiny’s biggest names will all be pushing the pace to complete the Raid first. While championship belts are on the line as always, the winning team could also change the state of Destiny 2 as a whole.

We’ll just have to wait and see how the Raid unfolds when action gets underway shortly. You can keep on top of the full Vow of the Disciple Raid race right here.

Destiny 2 Vow of the Disciple Raid: Pyramid Ship location

The upcoming Witch Queen Raid appears to take place inside a Pyramid Ship.

Our first look came at the very end of the Launch Trailer as a full Fireteam prepared to enter through an opening at the bottom of the Ship.

Destiny 2 Savathun Throne World gameplay
Bungie
Fireteams of six will be battling through Savathun’s Throne World in the upcoming Destiny 2 Raid.

Though it’s worth noting this particular Pyramid Ship has fallen in Savathun’s Throne World. As a result, not everything can be taken at face value. There’s always a chance the very ship itself is an illusion.

We’ll have to wait and see what mystery awaits inside, if we do in fact spend the entire Raid within the ominous Pyramid Ship.

Destiny 2 Vow of the Disciple Raid: Enemies

It’s currently unclear just who we’ll be fighting against in the Witch Queen Raid. Though we can make a few educated guesses based on its location.

Taking place in the new destination among Savathun’s Throne World, this area is mostly controlled by her Lucent Brood. These are a new form of Hive enemies that we’ve already seen plenty of throughout the Witch Queen campaign.

Destiny 2 Lucent Brood gameplay
Bungie
The Lucent Brood can wield the Light no different from us Guardians.

Capable of wielding the Light, just like us Guardians, these foes can not only use devastating Solar, Arc, and Void powers, but they can even resurrect their fallen allies. 

Although there’s no telling for certain just yet, it’s likely these Lucent Brood enemies will be the main threat during the Witch Queen Raid.

Destiny 2 Pyramid Ship
Bungie
Guardians finally get to step inside another Pyramid Ship in the Witch Queen Raid.

Beyond Savathun’s Light-infused Hive, however, there’s also a chance we see something brand new inside the Raid. After all, it’s worth remembering what happened the last time we stepped through a Pyramid Ship.

Guardians were greeted by a clone of themselves at the very end of Shadowkeep after fighting through the first Ship of its kind. We were told this race didn’t seek to be our “friend” or our “enemy,” but instead, our “salvation.”

While this storyline has remained under wraps since then, venturing back inside another Pyramid Ship on Savathun’s Throne World could set the stage for our first true combat encounter with the Black Fleet and its forces of Darkness.

Destiny 2 Witch Queen Raid: Required Power Level

The Vow of the Disciple Raid in Destiny 2 has a required Power Level of 1530 while Contest Mode is active.

After clearing the main storyline Guardians should be well on the way to reaching this requirement. In fact, finishing the campaign on Legendary difficulty rewards players with a full set of gear at the 1520 Power soft cap. This is arguably the best place to start in order to prepare for the day one Raid experience.

Destiny 2 Legendary Campaign gameplay
Bungie
Clearing the Witch Queen campaign on Legendary difficulty is a great place to start with Raid preparation.

As usual, Contest Mode will be in effect to keep things balanced in the Vow of the Disciple. Regardless of how much you grind in the days leading up to the new Raid, all Guardians will be capped throughout the various encounters with Contest Mode active for the first 24 hours. 

So even if you clear well beyond the 1530 Power Level, you won’t have any advantage while Contest Mode is in effect. After the 24 hour window, however, the roof is blown open and you can run wild with your full Power in the Raid.

That’s all we know about the Destiny 2 Witch Queen Raid, Vow of the Disciple. For more tips and guides covering all things Destiny, check out more of our guide content at Dexerto:

Best PvP weapons | How to unlock Thorn | Destiny 2 Promo Codes | How to unlock Hawkmoon | Destiny 2 Prime Gaming Rewards | How to unlock The Last Word | Infamy Ranks Guide | Glory Ranks Guide

get updated

Subscribe to our newsletter for the latest updates on Esports, Gaming and more.

Loading ...