Fortnite

KEEMSTAR Announces a $5K Saturday Fortnite Tournament for Small Streamers and YouTubers

by DG Goldstein

Share


Popular YouTuber Daniel 'KEEMSTAR' Keem has announced a FortniteSaturday tournament for small YouTubers and Streamers following the success of 'FortniteFriday.'

With millions of players attempting to get the coveted 'Victory Royale' since its release in September of 2017, the Battle Royale portion of Fortnite has gained immense traction across the gaming world in recent months.

Advertisement

While the casual community has been a great deal of traction, various members of the esports industry have attempted to turn Fortnite into a competitive title, with Epic Games announcing on May 21st that the game will receive $100 million in prize money between 2018 and 2019 for official tournaments.

However, even though no official events have been played, Fortnite fans have taken the situation into their own hands by hosting different online tournaments to help promote the community.

Advertisement

KEEMSTAR, the host of the 'Drama Alert' YouTube series, created a weekly 'FridayFortnite' tournament which includes a collection of large YouTubers, streamers, and personalities from around the scene to try their luck in a double-elimination style bracket hosted by UMG.

Following the success of FridayFortnite, some community members inquired about a separate tournament which could help promote smaller personalites, leading KEEMSTAR to announce 'SaturdayFortnite' on Saturday, June 2nd at 4 PM EST (1 PM PST, 9 PM BST.)

Advertisement

He would later clarify that the event will be for the 'largest' of the small creators, however, those with under 500 viewers may soon get their chance in the future.