Fortnite

Fortnite is teaming up with the NFL to release team uniforms as in-game skins

by Matt Porter

Share


Fans of American Football and popular battle royale game Fortnite will soon be able to combine their love for the two thanks to a new partnership between Epic Games and the National Football League.

Announced on Monday, November 5, the deal will see special skins come to Fortnite for all 32 teams that play in the NFL, with fans able to choose which team they would like to represent.

The skins will be available from 7pm ET (4pm PT, 12am GMT) on Friday, November 9, although there is no official announcement as to how much these items will cost, or how long fans will be able to buy these skins for.

There will be three styles of the outfit available, two male and one female, with fans only required to purchase the skin, and not every team’s uniform individually. Each skin comes with all 32 NFL teams full uniform, including jersey, pants and helmet, along with a special edition Fortnite team uniform.

Players will also be able to choose the number on their uniforms, with every number between zero and 99 available to be selected.



UPDATE

The NFL has also announced that uniforms will not be the only items coming to Fortnite. More details HERE.


While this isn’t the first time that Fortnite has introduced cosmetic items relating to sports events into the game, it is the first time they have officially partnered with a league or organization to bring branded items into the game.

During the 2018 FIFA World Cup, Epic Games released a series of soccer cosmetics, which allowed players to choose the kit of the team they were supporting at the tournament.

Epic Games have also partnered in the past with Marvel Studios, adding a special gamemode featuring the villainous Thanos to coincide with the release of Marvel’s Avengers: Infinity War.