Fortnite

Fortnite x Star Wars event at Risky Reels – everything there is to know

by David Purcell
Epic Games (via @FortPass)

Share


Fortnite Battle Royale players will soon be able to sit back and enjoy some Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker at Risky Reels, but is anything else happening for the crossover event? 

The event was first being sounded out by leakers under the codename of 'Galileo' but it has since been revealed by Epic Games that construction was being done at Risky Reels to prepare for something very different.

The huge screen will finally be put to good use as some brand new footage from the next Star Wars movie is set to premiere on the big screen at the drive-in cinema point of interest, with players being rewarded for attending as well.

Let's take a look at everything you need to know to watch the event and reap the rewards.

HYPEX, Twitter
HYPEX, Twitter
Trucks started to arrive near Risky Reels earlier in December.

Advertisement

Construction started to get underway at Risky Reels earlier in December, where players first noticed that trucks they had never seen before were appearing nearby.

These vehicles, which had featured in several previous leaks from data miners Lucas7yoshi and HYPEX, were just the start, but nobody knew at that time what was going to come from it all. It was later revealed by Epic Games that they had secured a crossover event like no other with Disney to show a never-before-seen segment from Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker.

There have been similar events take place in Fortnite previously, with the closest thing to this being Marshmello performing live at Pleasant Park back in Chapter 1 – which attracted a then record number of concurrent players. They'll be hoping for similar results this time.

Epic Games
Epic Games
Preparations have been made for Risky Reels to host a Star Wars viewing event on December 14.

Advertisement

Fortnite Risky Reels event details

When will it start?

The huge screen at Risky Reels will start rolling the footage on December 14, just five days before the worldwide premiere of Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker.

Players on the day are going to have to land at Risky Reels on time to get a spot. Below you can see when the event starts for you, depending on where you live. Doors open, according to promotional material, 30 minutes before these start times.

  • 11am PT
  • 2pm EST
  • 1pm CT
  • 7pm BST
  • 6am AEST (December 15)

Advertisement

Fortnite x Star Wars event reward

Everybody attending the crossover event is going to be handed one of the best gliders the game has to offer.

If you weren't already convinced by the idea of coming along to watch some Star Wars, maybe this new TIE Whisper Glider will tempt you. All you have to do to get it is take part in the event.

Advertisement

How is it going to look?

It has taken some time for the leaked plans of Risky Reels to play out in-game, but we now have what appears to be a final picture of what the event venue is going to look like – following the v11.30 update on December 12.

Posters have been stuck around the Fortnite map advertising the crossover and finally now the stage seems to be set.

Epic Games (via @FortPass)
Epic Games (via @FortPass)
We said earlier that they would be putting that screen to good use. About that...

The screen at Risky Reels has been replaced by what looks like a projector.

Whether or not the clip will be played just inside the circle or projected into the sky remains to be seen, but it looks like there's a lot to look forward to for this event.

So, there you have it! Take part and you will be given an exclusive look at the new Star Wars movie and a brand new cosmetic item. Not a bad deal, right?