Fortnite

Fortnite Battle Royale Officially Confirmed For Nintendo Switch - Release Date and Details

by Calum Patterson

Share


After much speculation, Fortnite Battle Royale has been officially confirmed to be coming to Nintendo Switch - available on Tuesday June 12th.

As the Nintendo E3 Conference went live in Los Angeles, the Nintendo Europe Twitter account confirmed that Fortnite would be available in the eShop.

The game will be free of course, in line with Fortnite on all platforms, and judging from the trailer, Nintendo Switch will support Fortnite crossplay with other devices.

Fortnite is already live in North America, and will officially be available on the eShop worldwide at 5pm ET/9pm UTC/10pm BST on June 12th.

The Fortnite on Switch announcement was 'leaked' and rumored previously, and many fans did expect an announcement at E3, and Nintendo did not disappoint.

Crossplay has now been confirmed via Epic Games on Twitter, but no PS4 crossplay will be available by the looks of it. Only Xbox One, PC, Mac and iOS confirmed for Switch Fortnite crossplay.

Fortnite developer Epic Games has now provided more details of the upcoming release on Nintendo Switch.

We are excited to announce that starting today, Fortnite Battle Royale is available on Nintendo Switch. We can’t wait to board the Battle Bus with all of you Nintendo fans!

The game will be rolling out to all regions via the Nintendo eShop today. North America is live now, and the game will be available worldwide at 5:00pm ET/ 9:00pm UTC. 

On Nintendo Switch, Fortnite Battle Royale is the same game you know from PlayStation 4, Xbox One, PC, Mac, and mobile. Same gameplay, same map, same content, same weekly updates. With Switch, you can squad up with your friends in the same room or around the world, and even play on the go.