Epic Games, publisher of popular battle royale game Fortnite, previously announced they would be introducing account merging - and the feature finally became available on Wednesday, February 4.
While Fortnite players who played across multiple systems previously needed to have a separate account in order to do so, Epic is now allowing players to merge accounts, allowing them to use the same one across multiple platforms.
This means that players will be able to use their V-Bucks on any of their available accounts - not just the account associated with the V-Bucks.
To merge accounts, players must first select a primary account that they wish to continue using, then a secondary account to merge and disable.
The secondary account’s console login (PSN, Xbox Live, or Nintendo Online) will then be instantly linked to the selected primary account.
Two weeks after that, cosmetic items and V-Bucks will be transferred to the player’s primary account.
There are a few qualifications that accounts have to meet in order to be merged, though; console accounts must have played on Xbox Live, Nintendo Online, or PSN before September 28, 2018 to be eligible.
Merged accounts also can’t be currently banned, or disabled and players will need to be able to access all email addresses associated with the accounts they want to merge.
Accounts aren’t merged immediately, but users who have already gone through the process will get a countdown timer in their Fortnite battle lobby counting down to when V-Bucks and cosmetics will be available.
Players who want to get started can do so by clicking here.
Below is the full info from Epic on the new account merging feature:
HOW IT WORKS
You’ll choose two accounts, first a Primary Account that you wish to continue using. Then you’ll choose a Secondary Account to merge and disable. Your secondary accounts Console Login (e.g. PSN, Xbox Live, Nintendo Online) will be instantly linked to your Primary Account. Two weeks later your Fortnite Cosmetic Items and V-Bucks will be transferred to your Primary Account.
One account must have played on Xbox One or Switch and the other on PS4 before September 28th 2018 to be eligible.
Your account must not currently be banned or disabled.
In-game items and Vbucks will be held for two weeks before they’re merged to your primary account.
You’ll need access to all email addresses that are associated with accounts you wish to merge
If you have duplicate 3rd party login like Facebook on both your Primary and Secondary account, the Secondary login will be unlinked. You can unlink it prior to merging.
Battle Royale will allow you to merge all cosmetic items. Save the World will allow you to merge Llamas, Defenders, Heroes, Schematics, Survivors, XP, Evolution and Perk Materials.
Other Items such as Unreal Marketplace items, Creative Islands, and Save The World account level and progress will not be merged over from your secondary account.