Call of Duty CS:GO Fortnite League of Legends Overwatch Apex Entertainment FIFA Dota2 Smash PUBG Gaming Dexerto TV About Contact
 
Fortnite Battle Royale • Jun 27, 2018

Epic Games Announces Season 5 Start Date and Double XP Weekend for Fortnite Battle Royale

Shares
Epic Games Announces Season 5 Start Date and Double XP Weekend for Fortnite Battle Royale

Epic Games has announced the exact start date, and time, of Season 5 in Fortnite and revealed that there will be a +100% XP weekend at the end of June!

It seems like it was only yesterday that Fortnite Battle Royale fans and players around the world were excitedly discussing what Season 4 might bring to the game, but now it’s almost over.

Advertisement

The end of Season 3 brought the much anticipated meteor strikes, which saw Dusty Depot destroyed entirely and replaced with “Dusty Divot”, and numerous other significant changes.

A new “heroes and villains” theme was also introduced throughout Season 4 and players have spent a great deal of time discussing what will happen with the new rocket in the villain’s lair near Snobby Shores.

Advertisement

Well, those players won’t have to wait much longer to get some answers as Epic Games has now confirmed exactly when Season 5 will begin.

Posting to the /r/FortniteBR subreddit, Epic Games’ MrPopoTFS stated that they will be giving players +100% match XP from June 29th - July 2nd and that Season 5 will officially begin on July 12th at 08:00 GMT (04:00 EDT).

“Heya folks,

Season 4 is coming to an end! We want to give you a heads up on the exact ending time. You may have seen the timer update in-game, which means we are giving you two more days to complete Season 4! Season 5 will begin on July 12th at 4 AM EDT (08:00 GMT).

Want even more help earning those last few Battle Pass rewards? We’ll be running a +100% match XP weekend starting June 29th at 4AM EDT (08:00 GMT) and ending on July 2nd at 3AM EDT (07:00 GMT). Hop in, catch up on challenges, and earn those Season 4 rewards while you can!”

Advertisement

Players were originally expecting Season 4 to end on July 10th (or 9th, depending on where you live), so the news about having some extra time to reach the coveted 100th tier will be popular with Battle Pass owners.

If the previous season is anything to go by, expect to see more hints about Season 5 appearing in the game in the coming days.

Read more about:
Fortnite Season 5