FIFA eClub eWorld Cup Groups Announced Ahead of Paris 2018 Event - Dexerto

FIFA eClub eWorld Cup Groups Announced Ahead of Paris 2018 Event

Published: 15/May/2018 12:09 Updated: 16/Oct/2020 16:12

by Calum Patterson


The groups have been announced for the first FIFA eClub eWorld Cup, to take place ahead of the full eWorld Cup and of course the actual FIFA World Cup this summer.

The competition features 16 teams or ‘clubs’, and is played on both Xbox One and PS4, including the esports rosters of big name clubs Paris-Saint Germain and FC Schalke 04.

[ad name=”article1″]

There are also established esports teams such as Team Envy and Lightning Pandas, making this one of the most stacked FIFA competitions to date.

And of course there is a suitably large prize pool as well, with $50,000 up for grabs, to be split between the sixteen teams and 32 players, depending on placings.


[ad name=”article2″]

If unfamiliar, each team features two players – one on the Xbox, and the other on the PlayStation. Xbox players vs Xbox players, and PS4 vs PS4, with the aggregate scores from the two games deciding the winning team.

And there is not just prize money on the line, as players will also be challenging to earn themselves one of four qualification spots for the FIFA 18 Global Series Playoffs. The playoffs will determine who qualifies for the eWorld Cup grand finals.

[ad name=”article3″]

Follow the FIFA eClub World Cup live will be streaming the action live this weekend as the FIFA eClub World Cup takes place at Paris’s Studio 130 on 19 and 20 May.


Featuring 16 professional eSports football teams, the eClub World Cup is a central part of the EA SPORTS FIFA 18 Global Series on the Road to the FIFA eWorld Cup, virtual football’s equivalent of the FIFA World Cup™. Local favourites Paris Saint-Germain and holders Brondby are among the clubs taking part, with each consisting of a PlayStation 4 and Xbox One player.

The draw took place on Monday 14 May, with both the local side and the reigning champions paired together in Group B.

Group A: Method, Hashtag Academy, Arte Virtual FC, FC Basel 1893, Unilad, BU E-Sports, Transfermarkt eSports, FC Schalke 04 eSports

Group B: Mkers, Team Envy, Falcons eSport, Brondby IF, Lightning Pandas, Xolos de Tijuana, VFL Bochum 1848, PSG eSports


Those 16 teams will be competing for a prize pool of USD $50,000 and, more importantly, four spots at the EA SPORTS FIFA 18 Global Series Playoffs. The event will be presented by Laura Woods and Spencer Owen, with commentary coming from Leigh Smith, Joe Miller, Richard Buckley and Brandon Smith.

You can follow it all live right here and also keep across the latest action on the FIFA eWorld Cup’s official Twitter and Facebook pages.