Does TikTok tell you who viewed your profile? - Dexerto
Entertainment

Does TikTok tell you who viewed your profile?

Published: 14/Apr/2022 16:40 Updated: 14/Apr/2022 17:22

by Georgina Smith

Share


On TikTok, you used to be able to see who exactly had viewed your profile, but is that feature still applicable when it comes to recent versions of the app?

For the past couple of years, TikTok’s popularity has been on a rapid rise, becoming the center for some of the internet’s most viral content.

From dancing, to life hacks, challenges, filters, and more, this app seems to have everything, and that has meant that a huge range of different communities have formed on the app, with lots of different creator profiles to flick through.

However, as you take a look at different peoples’ profiles, you may be wondering whether they are able to see if you have viewed it.

Advertisement

TikTok logo on a phone
Unsplash: Olivier Bergeron
TikTok has become many people’s go-to social media app.

It used to be the case on the app that you could tap your notification tab and look at the ‘viewed my profile’ section to see who had viewed your profile, and at one point would even receive notifications to alert you to new profile views. But is that still a feature?

Can people see if I viewed their TikTok profile?

Yes, you can see some of the people who viewed your TikTok profile, as long as you have the profile views feature enabled.

Although TikTok removed the ability to see who has viewed your profile a while back, in January 2022 there were reports that TikTok was adding the feature back in on an opt-in basis.

Advertisement

Users started reporting that the feature had returned in February, although not everyone was happy to see it make a comeback. For now, it seems like not everyone has access to the profile view history option, but more and more users are reporting that they’re now able to use it by the day.

It’s also not possible to see exactly who has viewed your videos. People can see how many times a video has been viewed from the thumbnail on their profile page, but this doesn’t include information about specific accounts.

How to turn on profile views

If you have received access to the feature and you decide that you want to try it out, turning it on and off again is a pretty straightforward process.

Advertisement

Profile views instructions on TikTok

To do so, simply follow these instructions:

  1. Open TikTok.
  2. Go to the ‘Profile’ tab.
  3. Tap the eye icon in the top right corner of the screen.
  4. Select ‘Turn on.’

To turn it off again, just navigate to the eye icon on your profile again, and in the top-right corner click the gear icon. After that, toggle the switch to off. You are able to turn the setting off and on at any time.

If you want to learn more about how to use TikTok, you can check out our other guides here:

How to duet on TikTokHow to Stitch on TikTokHow to go live on TikTokHow to find contacts on TikTok | How to use TikTok StoriesBest time to post on TikTok for more views and likes

Advertisement