Call of Duty CS:GO Fortnite LoL Overwatch Apex Entertainment FIFA Lists Dota2 Smash PUBG World of Warcraft Pokemon Opinion Gaming Dexerto TV About Contact
 
Destiny • Aug 31, 2018

How To Play Destiny 2’s New Gambit Mode For Free This Weekend

How To Play Destiny 2’s New Gambit Mode For Free This Weekend

Destiny 2’s newest game-mode Gambit officially launches next week with the release of the Forsaken expansion, but players can get their hands on it for free this weekend.

Advertisement

The demo of the new Gambit mode will only be available for a 24 hour period starting September 1, going live at 10am PDT (1pm EDT, 6pm BST), and ending exactly 24 hours later on September 2.

Anyone who wants to try the new game-mode will need to own the base version of the full game, but you don’t need to own any of the expansion packs that have been released. Destiny 2 is available for free right now on PlayStation, for those who don’t already own the game.

Advertisement

Anyone playing on Xbox One or PlayStation 4 will also require access to an Xbox Live Gold or PlayStation Plus account, while PC players can play through the Battle.net launcher.

The new Gambit mode is a combination of PvP (Player vs Player) and PvE (Player vs Environment). Two teams of four Guardians battle hordes of enemies, collecting tokens called Motes as a reward. When you have gathered 25 Motes, teams can send a player into the opponent's game to cause mayhem and destruction.

Advertisement

By giving Destiny players the opportunity to get their hands on Gambit before the Forsaken launch, Bungie and Activision are hoping it will build hype amongst the Destiny community, and perhaps persuade those who are not intending to purchase the expansion to do so.

The Gambit mode will be fully released on Tuesday, September 4, when the new Forsaken expansion for Destiny 2 is officially available.

NEW from Dexerto: Why 100 Thieves is the hottest brand in esports right now:

Read more about:
Destiny 2