Destiny

How to play Destiny 2: Forsaken's Gambit mode for free this weekend

by Ross Deason

Share


Bungie are giving Destiny fans another chance to try out Destiny 2: Forsaken’s Gambit mode this weekend, and this time even more content will be enabled.

The first free trial of the new Gambit mode went live the weekend before Destiny 2: Forsaken launched at the start of September but some of the maps and races were unavailable.

That won’t be the case for the latest free trial, which runs from September 21 - 23, as Bungie have confirmed that all of the enemy races and the four Gambit maps will be available throughout the weekend.

Gambit is Destiny’s first take on a PvEvP mode, pitting players against each other while keeping the standard player player versus environment gameplay that the games are known for.

Two teams of four players compete in a mirrored map, fighting various enemies and collecting “Motes.” The first team to collect 75 Motes will summon a boss that needs to be fought and killed in order to earn a point.

You can also sabotage the enemy team’s progress by sending “Blockers”, which are extra enemies that sit around a team’s bank until they are destroyed, or using an invasion portal to access the enemy team’s side of the map to kill them.

The new mode has proven to be a big hit with the Destiny 2 community and can usually only be played if you own the Forsaken DLC, so make the most of the free trial while it’s available!

The free weekend runs from 18:00 BST (13:00 EDT, 10:00 PDT) on Friday, September 21 until the same time on Sunday, September 23.

You can play on PC, PlayStation 4 and Xbox One and the only requirement is that you own the standard, base game of Destiny 2 and have it installed.