HLTV reveals the Top 20 CS:GO Pros of 2018 - Dexerto

HLTV reveals the Top 20 CS:GO Pros of 2018

Published: 5/Jan/2019 19:48 Updated: 21/Jan/2019 11:50

by Calum Patterson


Popular CS:GO website ‘HLTV’ has begun the countdown to unveiling their pick for the best player of 2018, with the first players in the top 20 now revealed.

Often seen as the definitive list for the top players over the last year in CS:GO, HLTV’s top 20 always sparks plenty of discussion and debate.


Everything is considered, from individual performances to team achievements, to determine the very best – and in what order.

Previous years have seen the usual suspects such as MiBR’s Marcelo ‘coldzera’ David for two years running, or FaZe Clan’s Olof ‘olofmeister’ Kajbjer, during Fnatic’s dominant 2015, top the list.


But fans are expecting a new name to top the list for 2018, although not everyone agrees as to who it should be.

While many would elect Ukrainian star Oleksandr ‘s1mple’ Kostyliev as by far the finest individual player, others believe that due to his outstanding performances with the dominant Astralis team, Nicolai ‘device’ Reedtz could have a chance at number 1.

HLTV Top 20 players of 2018 (CS:GO)

20. Valdemar ‘valde’ Bjørn Vangså


19. Robin ‘ropz’ Kool


18. Håvard ‘rain’ Nygaard


17. Timothy ‘autimatic’ Ta


16. Miikka ‘suNny’ Kemppi

@borodasltv / Twitter

15. Jonathan ‘EliGE’ Jablonowski

14. Tomáš ‘oskar’ Štastný


13. Andreas ‘Xyp9x’ Højsleth

12. Russel ‘Twistzz’ Van Dulken

11. Ladislav ‘GuardiaN’ Kovács

10. Marcelo ‘coldzera’ David


9. Freddy ‘KRIMZ’ Johansson


8. Lukas ‘gla1ve’ Rossander

7. Emil ‘Magisk’ Reif

6. Keith ‘NAF’ Markovic

5. Peter ‘dupreeh’ Rasmussen

4. Denis ‘electronic’ Sharipov

3. Nikola ‘NiKo’ Kovac

2. Nicolai ‘dev1ce’ Reedtz

1. Aleksandr ‘s1mple’ Kostyliev


Nadeshot frustrated as ESL shut down his restream of CSGO finals

Published: 19/Oct/2020 0:49 Updated: 19/Oct/2020 11:59

by Theo Salaun


Ahead of 100 Thieves’ announced departure from Counter-Strike: Global Offensive, Mathew ‘Nadeshot’ Haag came under a bit of fire for disinterest in his org’s finals match at IEM New York and, subsequently, admonished by ESL for streaming the event.

Nadeshot came home to Los Angeles after 12 hours of travel and was excited to stream some of the Black Ops Cold War open beta for the first time, but, as the stream started, he also mentioned that he wouldn’t be responding to chat as much as usual because 100T was facing Furia in the IEM New York Grand Finals.


Unfortunately, some found it disappointing that the organization’s founder would multitask and play another game during his team’s final CS:GO match ever, with former pro Chad ‘SPUNJ’ Burchill even calling him out.

With people like SPUNJ discrediting Nade’s loyalty to his team and Black Ops Cold War coincidentally crashing, the 100T CEO attempted to switch over to the big match. But, in another string of disappointments, that idea wasn’t meant to be either.


After trying to watch the Grand Finals with about 13,000 viewers, Nade received word that this re-stream was against ESL guidelines and that he was not allowed to do so.

Frustratedly, he returned to his initial Black Ops Cold War plans and expressed some understanding, as well as disappointment with the tournament organizers’ decision.

“At the end of the day, I get it from a business perspective on ESL’s standpoint,” Nadeshot said. “I mean, they pay for broadcast rights and they’re putting on this tournament and all these things.


But, from my perspective, I have all of their sponsors and broadcast assets on my stream … I’m essentially just on a soapbox right now, blasting the stream but with just 12-13,000 more viewers.”

As he explained on stream, by putting the stream on full screen without any of his brandings, he felt that he was just giving the official broadcast more exposure. But, ultimately, he understands why the decision was made.

In a later clip, following his return to streaming BOCW, the 100T head honcho added further clarification.


While affirming that he fully understands why he wasn’t allowed to re-stream the event and that he respects ESL’s business decisions, he felt that this situation was unique and could have been handled differently: “Well, I got your logos up here, I’ve got none of my sponsors up here. Can’t we just make an exception?”

First criticized for not giving his team’s play enough attention and then reprimanded for giving it too much attention, this wasn’t one of Nadeshot’s more fortunate streams. Still, he understands why ESL came down on him and, perhaps more importantly, he did eventually get to play BOCW without his PC crashing.