CS:GO

ESL announce first ever CSGO major to be held in Brazil in 2020

by Jacob Hale

Share


ESL has officially announced the dates and location of the next CSGO Major, set to bring the world’s best teams together in 2020 in Brazil’s Rio de Janeiro.

Major championships are the crowning moments of CS players’ careers, akin to Dota 2’s The International or the League of Legends World Championship.

There are two Major events each year, held across the globe with 24 of the best teams in the world looking to become Major champions. Now, these teams will be heading to Rio in 2020 to become legends of the game and win their share of the $1,000,000 prize pool.

DreamHack
DreamHack
Astralis have won four of the last six CSGO Majors.

Advertisement

In a tweet posted on December 11, ESL said: “The players, the fans, the game... We're bringing the CSGO Major for the first time to a special place where passion leads the dream."

Tickets will go on sale on Thursday, December 12 at 12PM BRT / 10AM EST / 7AM PT / 3pm GMT.

Brazil has been a hotbed for some of the most committed fans in CS, with a passion rarely seen in esports, and the fans will be delighted to finally have a Major championship take place in their capital city.

Advertisement

It had already been leaked by DeKay earlier in the year that Rio will be hosting a Major, so this news isn’t exactly a huge surprise to those who have been keeping up with the rumors.

However, the Vice-President of Pro Gaming at ESL, Michal ‘Carmac’ Blicharz later tweeted a list of the cities ESL has hosted “Masters level” CSGO in – and hints at some more new cities on the way.

“ESL has taken Masters level CSGO to venues in: Beijing, Belo Horizonte, Chicago, Cologne, Dallas, Katowice, New York, Montpellier, Oakland, Odense, San Jose, Sao Paulo, Shanghai, and Sydney.

In 2020 we will go to Rio and... new cities.”

Advertisement

So make sure to save the date May 21-24 in your calendars, with tickets available Thursday, December 12, 2019.

Danish side Astralis has won four of the last six major championships in CSGO, and they’ll be looking to keep their streak of three consecutive wins alive in Brazil in May.