ELEAGUE Premier 2018 Reaches Semi-Final Stage as Team Liquid and Mousesports March On


Team Liquid and Mousesports have clinched the final two playoff spots at ELEAGUE CS:GO Premier 2018.

Team Liquid rolled over MiBR in two maps, while Mousesports secured a 2-1 victory against a spirited Fnatic to close out the day.

[ad name=”article1″]

The final day of Group Stage action at the $1 million tournament saw Team Liquid trying to bounce back from a defeat at the hands of Astralis, while the MiBR players were hoping to continue the momentum that they found against Cloud9 in the Group A elimination match.

[ad name=”article2″]

Team Liquid looked like the team in control throughout the first map, Cache, despite some strong form from Marcelo ‘coldzera’ David. The North American team was able to grind away at MiBR and eventually take a comfortable 16-10 victory.

The next map, Overpass, was much of the same. Team Liquid controlled the game from the front throughout – weathering the occasional storm from the Brazilian opposition and taking another 16-10 win as Russel ‘Twistzz’ Van Dulken topped the scoreboard.

[ad name=”article3″]

Next up on stage was Mousesports versus Fnatic. The Fnatic players were clearly confident after their impressive win over FaZe Clan in Group B’s elimination matc and carried that form into the first map, Inferno, against the international lineup of Mousesports.

The Swedes secured a tight 16-13 win on their map pick before moving on to Mousesports’ choice of Train. The entire map was a back and forth affair, but Tomáš ‘oskar’ Šťastný and Robin ‘ropz’ Kool were the difference makers, helping Mousesports to grab a narrow 16-14 win and force a third map.

Fnatic’s form seemed to dip in the final map, Mirage, and it was Miikka ‘suNny’ Kemppi’s time to put in a monster performance for Mousesports, picking up 30 kills in just 25 rounds.

Mousesports controlled the economy throughout the game and eventually secured a 16-9 win, knocking Fnatic out of the competition.

Mousesports will now move on to face the world’s consensus number one team, Astralis, while Team Liquid will have to deal with a Natus Vincere lineup that has both Oleksandr ‘s1mple’ Kostyliev and Denis ‘electronic’ Sharipov firing on all cylinders.

The semi-final matches will take place on July 28, beginning with Astralis versus Team Liquid.