Call of duty

Why have Treyarch locked all major Call of Duty Zombies easter eggs?

by Matt Porter

Share


Treyarch have locked all of the major Easter Eggs found in Black Ops 4’s Zombies mode to stop spoilers leaking out.

In a post made on the Call of Duty Zombies subreddit, Treyarch confirmed that the Easter Eggs in Zombies would remain locked until Friday, October 12 at 10AM PDT (1PM EDT, 6PM BST, 4AM AEDT),

The lockdown covers all four Zombies maps - Voyage of Despair, IX, Blood of the Dead and Classified.

Treyarch have made this decision in an attempt to stop spoilers leaking out and ruining the surprises for other players. The developers stated: “We also know how important it is for fans to discover the secrets hidden within each launch day experience together as a community. Therefore, we’re trying something new for the first time.”

The team at Treyarch hope that this launch will help “create a spoiler-free, 100% level playing field for Easter Egg hunters around the world,” with nobody having early access to the Easter eggs, no matter when they pick up the game.

The Hunt Begins on October 12th from r/CODZombies

The statement on Reddit also included Treyarch’s promise to continue providing new content for the popular game mode. 

"In addition to launching with more Zombies experiences on Day One than any previous game in our history, the team is dedicated to releasing a steady stream of post-launch Zombies content via new features, special events, regular game updates, and more.”

Call of Duty’s Zombies mode is available in the full release of the franchise’s highly anticipated new title Black Ops 4, which will be available worldwide on Friday, October 12.