Call of duty

How Do I Get Access to the Black Ops 4 Blackout Beta and When Does it Start?

by Matt Porter

Share


Call of Duty: Black Ops 4 is set to release on Friday, October 12, but fans of the series can try out the new battle royale mode named Blackout before the games launch, starting September 10.

PlayStation players will get to play Blackout before anyone else, starting on Monday, September 10 at 10am PDT (1pm EDT, 6pm BST). Xbox One players get their hands on the beta on Friday, September 14, along with players who have preordered on Battle.net. The beta will then open for all on Battle.net on the 15th, giving all PC players an opportunity to try the new mode.

The beta ends at 10am PDT (1pm EDT, 6pm BST) on Monday, September 17, across all three platforms.

The new battle royale mode is a first time addition to Call of Duty. Players will battle it out in a map comprised of locations taken from pre-existing Call of Duty maps, with Nuketown specifically mentioned.

While Activision and Treyarch are yet to release how many people will actually be able to compete in a Blackout game, recent leaks suggest that there will be 100 players on the map, however that could change by the time the beta releases.

Blackout sees Activision attempt to cash in on the massively popular battle royale scene, with games like PlayerUnknown’s Battlegrounds and Fortnite Battle Royale dominating the gaming market over the past year.

Whether Blackout can match up with the battle royale juggernauts remains to be seen, but fans will get their chance to decide starting September 10.