Call of duty

The First Image of FormaL in a Luminosity Gaming Jersey and It Feels Weird

by DG Goldstein

Share


The first image of Matthew 'FormaL' Piper in a Luminosity Gaming jersey since his departure from OpTic Gaming and it definitely feels weird to see.

After originally beginning his esports journey in the competitive Halo scene, FormaL eventually decided to switch to Call of Duty during the CoD: Ghosts season for better opportunities down the line.

Although he would compete for the likes of Team Kaliber, FaZe Black, and Team Envy, FormaL eventually found a home in OpTic Gaming to kick off the Advanced Warfare season in 2014 alongside Seth 'Scump' Abner, Ian 'Crimsix' Porter, and now-retired Matthew 'Nadeshot' Haag.

As a member of OpTic, he went on to become one of the most feared competitors throughout the entire Call of Duty scene and won a collection of major tournaments and events alongside the Green Wall, including CoD Champs 2017 on Infinite Warfare.

However, following a string of poor placements and reported internal issues, FormaL was traded to Luminosity Gaming for Samuel 'Octane' Larew after CWL Seattle, ending his run as a member of one of the best CoD teams of all time.

Now that Division B of Stage Two at the CWL Pro Leauge is ready to kick off on Tuesday, May 29th, Josiah 'Slacked' Berry, one of FormaL's new teammates on LG, shared a picture of the former OpTic player in a Luminosity jersey for the first time on Twitter.

Luminosity will play their first match as a squad together on LAN for the first time on Tuesday, May 29th at 3:30 PM EST (12:30 PM PST, 8:30 PM BST) against eUnited.

The full week one schedule for Divison B at Stage Two of the CWL Pro League can be found right here.