Pro Players and Personalities React to OpTic CoD Roster Change

Mike Kent

The 2015 to 2018 OpTic Gaming Call of Duty team will go down in esports history as one of the greatest rosters of all time.

The team consisting of Seth ‘Scump’ Abner, Ian ‘Crimsix’ Porter, Matt ‘FormaL’ Piper and Damon ‘Karma’ Barlow played their first event at UMG California in April 2015, taking down FaZe Clan in the grand final. That was the start of something special.

[ad name=”article1″]

The four man team consisting of arguably four of the greatest CoD players of all time went on to win a further 12 events, and rather fittingly, their final win as a team saw them lift the title as CoD Champs 2017 winners for Infinite Warfare.

When it was announced that Call of Duty WWII would be 2017’s annual title, expectations were high for the team to continue their blistering success when the mechanics returned to boots on the ground. Unfortunately for OpTic fans, that didn’t quite work out like planned.

[ad name=”article2″]

Following a third place finish at CWL Dallas, the team looked to have lost the killer instinct that made them such formidable competitors.

As the WWII season progressed it was clear something was wrong internally with a clear division between the players both on and off the game. The final straw appeared to be losing back to back series against FaZe Clan in the CWL Pro League finals.

[ad name=”article3″]

Just a number of weeks later they placed top 16 at CWL Seattle and rumors began to float around of a roster change. On May 6th it was confirmed that FormaL and Karma would be replaced by Anthony ‘Methodz’ Zinni and Sam ‘Octane’ Larew.

For years the team was known as the ‘final boss’ of competitive Call of Duty, with something special required in order to beat them. Regardless of the level of game, whether online or offline, the team had something of a bounty on their heads.

[ad name=”article4″]

This level of respect by other professional players and notable figures within the competitive CoD community was shown on Twitter following the announcement of the new lineup with a variety of reactions to the move.


eUnited’s James ‘Clayster’ Eubanks


CoD commentator Ben ‘Benson’ Bowe


Former CoD commentator Matt ‘Mr X’ Morello

[ad name=”article5″]


Splyce’s Dillon ‘Madcat’ Daly


FaZe Clan’s Dillon ‘Attach’ Price


Red Reserve’s Matthew ‘Skrapz’ Marshall


OpTic Gaming Coach Tyler ‘Teep’ Polchow


OpTic Gaming’s Ian ‘Crimsix’ Porter