MW2 Ranked Play: Ruleset, skill divisions, maps & modes

CDL operators in Modern Warfare 2 ranked mode are just one of the incoming rewards.Activision

Modern Warfare 2’s Ranked Mode builds on the concepts of previous games. From Skill Divisions to the official Call of Duty League ruleset, here’s how it works.

MW2 Ranked Mode gives players a chance to compete in a more official capacity than the regular public matches or CDL Moshpit playlist.

The aim of the mode is to organize players into skill divisions, allow them to compete against each other, and advance the players that come out on top most often. This arena also restricts many game elements, like overly strong weapons and killstreaks, to ensure a more competitively balanced competition.

Article continues after ad

Whether you’re a newcomer to the competitive Call of Duty scene or a grizzled vet who has been playing since the days of the Competitive playlist in Black Ops, there are unique features to learn about this version of the system.

Anyone looking for the perfect Ranked classes should check out our guide here.

Modern Warfare 2 Ranked Mode ruleset

modern warfare 2 operators in helicopterActivision
Ranked Play is coming to Modern Warfare 2 on February 15.

As previously mentioned, Ranked is a very different experience than regular public matches. The playlist operates on the current version of the Call of Duty League ruleset, meaning that certain guns, equipment, and killstreaks are not allowed.

Additionally, the CDL rules define the map and game mode combinations, meaning that only specific pairings are playable.

Article continues after ad

Search and Destroy:

  • Al Bagra Fortress
  • Breenbergh Hotel
  • El Asilo
  • Embassy
  • Mercado Las Almas


  • Al Bagra Fortress
  • Breenbergh Hotel
  • Embassy
  • Mercado Las Almas
  • Zarqwa Hydroelectric


  • Al Bagra Fortress
  • Breenbergh Hotel
  • El Asilo

MW2 Ranked Skill Divisions

As explained in the official reveal blog, the classic divisional system is back again with a few new additional skill tiers.

Instead of placement matches, every player starts as a Bronze Ranked player. Users move up by acquiring the minimum amount of Skill Rating required for each Skill Division. Demotion Protection is a new feature that protects players from being demoted for the first three matches of a new Skill Division.

Skill Rating Forgiveness is another new feature that prevents team members from losing any Skill Rating if a teammate disconnects or quits in the middle of the match.

Article continues after ad

“SR Forgiveness: if a player disconnects or quits in the middle of the match, all team members outside of that player’s party will not lose ANY SR. Basically, if that 4v4 becomes a 3v4 due to a teammate quitting, SR can still be earned if you manage to overcome the disadvantage and win the match, but losing while shorthanded won’t deduct any SR,” is how the devs put it.

A player’s highest Skill Division placement decides the rewards they earn and where they will start for the next season. Bronze through Crimson players will start on Skill Division back at the start of a new season.

Article continues after ad

Here are the seven Skill Divisions and the required Skill Rating for each.

  • Bronze – 0-899 SR
  • Silver – 900-2,099 SR
  • Gold – 2,100-3,599 SR
  • Platinum – 3,600-5,399 SR
  • Diamond – 5,400-7,499 SR
  • Crimson – 7,500-9,999 SR
  • Iridescent – 10,000 SR minimum

Additionally, Ranked will showcase the Top 250, meaning that the players with the highest Skill Rating in the game will have their names and ladder position shown off on an in-game leaderboard.

The 250 best players with the highest SR above 10,00 will be placed within the Top 250 leaderboard. The developers announced a new feature, allowing players to track CDL Pros that qualify for the Top 250.

Rank and Sesonal awards

Just like in Vanguard, there will be exclusive Ranked items that can only be earned by completing various benchmarks in the mode.

Modern Warfare 2 introduces a Rank system. Players begin at Rank 1 and can advance up to Rank 50 by winning matches. Ranks do not reset between Ranked seasons

Article continues after ad

Here are the Ranked rewards coming at launch.

  • Rank 5: Ranked Competitor Operator Skin Pack
  • Rank 10: ‘Press F’ Emblem
  • Rank 15: Pro Issue Sidearm Blueprint
  • Rank 20: ‘Ace’ Weapon Charm
  • Rank 25: ‘Turn It Up’ Emblem
  • Rank 30: New Gun Screen that tracks Ranked Play wins
  • Rank 35: ‘I’m Cracked’ Large Weapon Decal
  • Rank 40: Pro Issue Combat Knife Blueprint
  • Rank 45: Sweep Weapon Charm
  • Rank 50: Ranked Veteran Operator Skins (Home and Away)

And here are the Skill Division rewards.

  • Bronze and Silver: new emblem
  • Any other Skill Division: two new Operator Skins, an Animated Emblem, and a Weapon Charm
  • Iridescent and top 250: an Aminated Calling Card
  • #1 Ranked Play Player: one-of-a-king exclusive Animated Calling Card and Emblem

There are also rewards for reaching specific win totals as well.

  • 5 Wins: ‘Season 2 Competitor’ Weapon Sticker
  • 10 Wins: Pro Issue Vaznev-9k Weapon Blueprint
  • 25 Wins: ‘MVP’ Weapon Charm
  • 50 Wins: ‘The Factor’ Large Weapon Decal
  • 75 Wins: ‘Ranked Play Season 2’ Loading Screen
  • 100 Wins: ‘Season 2 Ranked Veteran’ Weapon Camo

That’s the latest Ranked info at this time, but we’ll be sure to update this page with any relevant updates as they arrive.