Call of duty

Infinity Ward extend Modern Warfare Gunfight Alpha on PS4

by Calum Patterson

Share


Infinity Ward, developers of Call of Duty: Modern Warfare, have answered the community's call to extend the Gunfight Alpha exclusive to PS4.

The Alpha was set to go live on Friday, August 23, but was available early on Thursday 22, letting players jump in for the first hands-on experience with the new game. 

The alpha was limited to a single mode - Gunfight - but a variant of the mode called OSP was added, changing up the gameplay with a battle royale-style twist where players would pick weapons up from the ground to fight.

Infinity Ward
Infinity Ward

Just as players were expecting the Gunfight Alpha to be shut off on PS4, Infinity Ward answered their prayers and confirmed it would be extended.

Although they haven't given an exact time, they say that servers will stay live for a "few hours" longer - potentially until 4 PM EST (1PM PT, 9PM BST) - or potentially longer still.

It appears that the Alpha may have been removed from the PSN Store though, so if you don't already have it downloaded, you may have missed your chance. It's a bit 36GB download anyway, which would seriously cut into your playtime.

Unfortunately, if you're not on PS4, you won't be able to get a chance to play until mid-September, when the full multiplayer beta is released on Xbox One and PC.

For now, PS4 players should make the most of the extra time on the Gunfight Alpha.