Call of Duty CS:GO Fortnite League of Legends Overwatch Apex Entertainment FIFA Dota2 Smash PUBG World of Warcraft Pokemon Opinion Gaming Dexerto TV About Contact
Call of Duty • Oct 10, 2019

Call of Duty: Leaked Modern Warfare ranking system explained

Call of Duty: Leaked Modern Warfare ranking system explained
Activision - Call of Duty: Modern Warfare

The traditional Call of Duty ranking formula appears to be getting a major revamp for the 2019 release of Infinity Ward’s Modern Warfareaccording to new leaks.


'Prestiging' has long been a typical function in the Call of Duty franchise. When a certain level is attained in the multiplayer component of the popular First Person Shooter, players are able to enter prestige and reset their rank entirely. 

That popular system appears to be getting overhauled in the upcoming release of Modern Warfare on October 25 however.


According to new leaks from TheGamingRevolution on YouTube, the traditional prestige system will not be present in the new entry whatsoever. “Instead, there is a new ranking up system,” the gaming personality explained. 

“When you start off in Modern Warfare you will have the standard levels from one through to 55.” Once you’ve reached the max level however, you will then transition to a seasonal rank which is a “temporary rank until the end of the current season.”


As you are ranking up your seasonal level, very similar to the Battle Pass in Fortnite, there are challenges to complete which grant “XP modifiers for the rest of the season.”

Seasonal ranks in Modern Warfare won’t be limitless, according to the leaks, the level cap should be “around 160, but that’s still being determined.”


The real challenge for those that want to grind the game will supposedly come from ranking up individual weapons now, as“most weapons will have over 80 plus levels.”

There is “no need for permanent unlock tokens anymore,” the leaker elaborated. With the removal of the prestige system entirely, there’s no longer any need to permanently unlock a weapon or a piece of equipment as items will never reset. Simply just your seasonal rank with the conclusion of each individual season.

Respawn Entertainment - Apex Legends
An example of a similar seasonal system in Apex Legends


According to the leaks, the first five seasons are titled as follows:

  • Season 1: Broken Arrow
  • Season 2: Cyber Attack
  • Season 3: Bio Warfare
  • Season 4: Home Grown Terrorism 
  • Season 5: Climate War 

Exactly how long each season will last remains unclear, however with the new weapon leveling system, it appears that Infinity Ward have implemented new ways to appease those looking for a real time-sink in Call of Duty.

NEW from Dexerto: Why 100 Thieves is the hottest brand in esports right now:

Read more about:
Modern Warfare