Black Ops 4’s Blackout Progression System Explained - Dexerto
Call of Duty

Black Ops 4’s Blackout Progression System Explained

Published: 7/Sep/2018 20:36 Updated: 7/Sep/2018 22:11

by Vincent Genova


Treyarch announced a host of new Blackout info during a livestream leading up to the Blackout beta on September 10.

Among the new details was a brief glimpse at how player progression and leveling will work in the new battle royale mode.

David Vonderhaar, a developer at Treyarch, answered a fan question on progression.

Here’s the macro level view of [progression], it is pretty simple. In battle royale inspired game modes like Blackout, the only way to progress is to eliminate other players from the game… or get first place.

He went on to explain in more detail, including a clarification that first place is not the only way to progress.

Details are still subject to change, but as of now a top 15 placing can help you progress.

If you do well, top 10 or 15 or 20, I think it is top 15 right now, and then.. how many kills you get…. that is what you progress with. It is a hard, long climb but you will see your progress the whole way.

Progressing this way will unlock five characters, while there is a separate system to unlock the rest of the cast.

The Blackout Beta will start on September 10 for PS4, and September 14 for Xbox One and PC.

Progression earned during the beta will not transfer over to the full release of the game.

For everything you should know about Blackout, visit our information hub here.

Call of Duty

Cheaters already ruining Black Ops Cold War with SiLLY | CharlieIntel Podcast #6

Published: 26/Oct/2020 9:20 Updated: 26/Oct/2020 9:22

by Shane King


People have been calling out for Activision to create their own anti-cheat system — in the same vein of Valorant’s Vanguard — in order to deal with the hackers that have plagued both multiplayer and Warzone ever since its release.

Mike and Keshav speak to SiLLY in Episode #6 of the CharlieIntel Podcast. During this week’s episode, we look at what needs to be changed following the Black Ops Cold War Beta. They also touch on whether the game needs a bespoke anti-cheat to ensure the game isn’t ruined by hackers, as well as what the transition to PC means for the CDL.

One of the big topics covered in the group discussion is the differences between the first and second week of how the beta felt in-game and if sliding is where it needs to be at the moment. Keshav also states that he feels they ‘overcompensated’ when nerfing sliding which left it feeling off, and he is hoping they dial it back a bit.