How to watch Apex Legends Preseason Invitational - Stream, schedule, teams and prize pool - Dexerto
Apex Legends

How to watch Apex Legends Preseason Invitational – Stream, schedule, teams and prize pool

Published: 12/Sep/2019 18:29 Updated: 14/Sep/2019 10:42

by Eli Becht

Share


The Apex Legends Preseason Invitational kicks off September 13 live from Poland and runs until the 15th where teams will compete for a cut of the $500,000 prize.

EA and Respawn have been ramping up the competitive Apex Legends scene and that’s continuing with the Preseason Invitational which starts today.

This three-day event will feature some of the biggest esports team involved in competitive Apex Legends including Team SoloMid, NRG, Luminosity, and many more.

Respawn Entertainment$500,000 is up for grabs!

Where to watch the Preseason Invitational

Tickets to the event in person are available in you happen to be in Poland. For the rest of you watching at home, you can do so from the comfort of your couch.

The event will kick off at 1 PM CEST (7 AM EDT / 4 AM PDT / 12 PM BST) each day of the event and will be live on Twitch, YouTube, Mixer, and Facebook. The Twitch stream can be found below.  

Watch live video from playapex on www.twitch.tv

Schedule

On the Electronic Arts website, there’s a simple schedule for this Invitational – as seen below. This shows the start of matches and even the finals too. 

Broadcast begins: 1:00 p.m. CEST (7:00 a.m. EDT / 4:00 a.m. PDT) each day of the event
Gameplay begins: 1:30 p.m. CEST (7:30 a.m. EDT / 4:30 a.m. PDT) each day of the event
Finals begin: 5:00 p.m. CEST (11:00 a.m. EDT / 8:00 a.m. PDT) on September 15

What are the rules?

With 80 teams and 240 players total competiting in the event, it might be helpful to know the rules if you’re watching along.

It’s actually not all that hard to follow and a good chunk of points will come from where teams place. If a team is eliminated, they’ll drop down to the loser’s bracket and still have another chance to compete.

Here’s the complete look at the rules courtesy of Liquipedia.

Point Distribution

  • Eliminations will provide 1 Point.
  • Placement points are distributed as the following per round:
    • 1st place – 12 Points.
    • 2nd place – 9 Points.
    • 3rd place – 7 Points.
    • 4th place – 5 Points.
    • 5th place – 4 Points.
    • 6th – 10th place – 2 Points.
    • 11th – 15th place – 1 Points.
    • 16th – 20th place – 0 Points.

Brackets

  • This Tournament uses a double-elimination format with a Winners Bracket and a Losers Bracket.
    • All Teams will be initially placed in the Winners Bracket Round 1.
    • The Winners Bracket consists of 3 rounds. Each round consists of a set number of matchups (“Match”) between the Teams in a Group.
    • The 10 Teams with the round’s highest Series Scores in each Group at the conclusion of each round advance to the next round in the Winners Bracket or the Tournament Finals.
    • The remaining Teams (max: 10) fall to the corresponding Losers Bracket as described in the Sections devoted to each Round below.

Respawn EntertainmentThe best of the best will be dropping in and competing in Apex Legends.

What teams are competing?

All the big organizations you’re used to seeing compete in Apex Legends are here including Team SoloMid, NRG, CLG, Team Liquid, and many more.

However, since there are 80 teams competing in total, with some lesser-known teams rising to the challenge, including some from regions outside of North America.

For the complete list of teams and their players, they can be found below – courtesy of EA. 

EAFull list of teams present at this Apex Legends Invitational.

What’s the prize pool breakdown?

Although 80 teams are competing, only 20 will be getting a share of the winnings, meaning they’ll have to finish in the top fourth of all teams.

The first-place team will come away with $105,000.

On top of that, there will be a special “Apex Predator” prize which goes to the player who earned the most kills and he’ll be given an $8,000 prize.

Apex Legends

All confirmed buffs coming in Apex Legends Season 7

Published: 24/Oct/2020 11:12

by Connor Bennett

Share


Apex Legends Season 7 is almost here, and that means changes to characters. So, we’ve rounded up all the buffs that Respawn have confirmed so far.

With each new Apex Legends season, players are always looking forward to getting their hands on a new Legend as well as seeing what’s been changed to existing Legends, weapons, and items.

As Season 7 is on the horizon, Respawn have begun to roll out their teasers – with a familiar-looking UFO turning up on both Kings Canyon and World’s Edge.

Aside from that, the devs have also been planting seeds about what buffs and nerfs are coming in the new season. So, we’ve rounded up the buffs that we know about so far.

Mirage

As one of Apex’s most popular characters, players have been desperate for Respawn to give Mirage a power increase, even after his abilities rework.

Those changes have always been on the horizon, as devs have answered numerous questions with positives answers about buffs, and those promises will finally come to fruition with the start of Season 7.

Daniel Klein, a game designer for Respawn, confirmed that they’ve been testing changes to his Life of the Party ult, so that could be the main change that the Holographic Trickster receives next season.

mirage in apex legends
Respawn/EA
Mirage is finally set to receive some changes.

Octane

Octane is also confirmed to be getting some positive treatment, but Respawn say it will only be a “tiny buff,” so no indication exactly what it will be yet. 

Rampart

As for Rampart, while a buff has been confirmed, there haven’t been any hints as to what it could entail. Since her introduction, players have made a number of suggestions – including being able to move around while firing her minigun. Though, we’ll just have to wait and see on that front. 

Octane in Apex Legends
Respawn/EA
Octane will receive a “tiny buff” in Season 7.

Pathfinder

Pathfinder will also be receiving a change to the cooldown on his grapple ability. However, the last time this was labeled a buff, it actually turned out to be a nerf

Audio

Not a buff as such, but Respawn have also confirmed that lots of progress has been made on audio problems, which have been plaguing the game for months, and these fixes will be coming in Season 7.

As for what else is coming in Season 7, we’ve rounded up everything you need to know here. We’ll just have to wait until November 4, when the new season starts, to see it all in action.