Apex Legends

How to play Duos mode in Apex Legends

by Connor Bennett

Share


Respawn Entertainment are finally giving fans what they want – a duos mode in Apex Legends. So, here’s what you need to know about playing it.

One thing that sets Apex Legends apart from it’s rivals in Fortnite, PlayerUnknown’s Battlegrounds, and Call of Duty: Blackout is the fact that the game is, really, only playable as a trio. 

There have been ways to play as a solo player, with a catch of course, as well as duos, but they’ve never struck around for too long. However, with the Fight or Fright event coming to an end, something must take the place of the Shadowfall limited-time mode, and it will be duos. So, how will you be able to play?

Respawn Entertainment / EA
Respawn Entertainment / EA
Apex games are usually competed in by teams of three.

Quite simply, once the update for Apex Legends goes live at around 7PM GMT/11AM PT/2PM EST, and 8PM CET, the duos mode should be able as a selectable playlist. 

This means that once your download has finished, hop into Apex Legends, grab your wingman, and select the Duos game type. From there, you’ll have one person to watch your back inside World’s Edge – unless you select Mirage, then you’ll have a few decoys as well.

How long the mode will last as a playlist, however, remains to be seen as Respawn have been coy about the length of time that it will be available.

In their annoucement tweet, the developers simply noted that it would be for a limited time, so players will have to wait until they say it’s coming to a close before they start heading back into trios lobbies.

While duos mode has been a highly-requested feature, the wait for it’s permanent addition – alongside a solo mode – rumbles on. 

Respawn have noted in the past that they would be judging how the community reacts to limited-time modes when making a decision over what stays and goes in multiplayer, so another positive reaction this time around could see it stay for a little while yet. 

Until then, though, make sure you and your duo partner of choosing are ready to become Apex Champions during this limited run.