Apex Legends Ranked Arena: Placements, Maps, Leaver Penalties - Dexerto
Apex Legends

Apex Legends Ranked Arenas: Placements, Maps, Leaver Penalties

Published: 22/Jul/2021 19:00 Updated: 3/Aug/2021 9:10

by Alan Bernal


Apex Legends Ranked Arena is coming in the Season 10 Emergence update with everything from ladders, leavers penalties, the maps we’ll play on, and much more.

Apex Legends’ Arenas is the newest permanent game mode that launched alongside the Legacy Update. Unlike the regular 60-player player battle royale game mode, Arena condenses the adrenaline-fueled action into smaller 3v3 battles.

But now you’ll really be able to flex your skills in the mode, with the Ranked Arenas mode starting in Apex Legends Season 10.

The Arenas ranked mode will be a completely separate ladder than the battle royale ranked mode with its own placements, splits, and more.


Apex Legends Ranked Arenas

Apex Legends arena map
Respawn Entertainment
Party Crasher is one of two custom arenas you can play on.

Apex Legends Season 10 will introduce a new Ranked Arenas mode for players to start climbing on August 3

The mode will have traditional visible ranks like Bronze, Silver, Gold, up to Predator with an underlying MMR score system for proper matchmaking.

Apex Legends Ranked Arenas placements

Before getting your rank, Apex Legends players will have to play in 10 placement matches that will determine your starting MMR.

Respawn noted that the first 10 matches could be rough, but will gradually ease up as you’re put into your rank.

Determining your rank will come down to wins, with kills taking more of a back seat when trying to earn Arenas Points (AP).


Respawn Entertainment
Unlike BR, Apex Legends Ranked Arenas will not have demotion protection.

For the Ranked Arenas climb, wins will give more AP than losses. There is no demotion protection in Ranked Arenas. However, Respawn will still give you the rewards for whatever your highest tier reached was that season.

The same party restrictions in Ranked BR apply in Ranked Arenas. At Platinum, you won’t be able to queue with someone more than 1 tier away. Bronze can team up with Golds, but Platinums won’t be able to queue with Silvers.

Ranked Arenas Loss Forgiveness & Splits

Respawn Entertainment
Ranked Arenas will have one season-long split.

There are no splits in Ranked Arenas, unlike the Battle Royale mode. Respawn are going to keep the same ranked split for Arenas alive all season long.


While this might change in future sessions, people will have all of Season 10 to work on their rank and get awarded at the end of the split.

However, that means you’ll have a whole season to content with Leavers Penalties for people who insist on abandoning their teams mid-game. Penalties in ranked will include temporary matchmaking bans if a player continues to leave games.

As for the Leaver’s teammates, they will be awarded Loss Forgiveness which will keep them from losing any AP and “at worst will earn 0 AP for that match.”

Apex Legends Ranked Arenas maps

Respawn Entertainment
New BR locations are coming to Ranked Arenas in Apex Legends Season 10.

The map rotation for Apex Legends Ranked Arenas will be the same as unranked throughout the split. While Party Crasher, Phase Runner, and Overflow will be in the rotation with one BR map.


But the Emergence Season 10 update will add three new BR locations to the Arenas rotation. Those include:

  •  King’s Canyon – Hillside
  • World’s Edge – Dome
  • Olympus – Oasis

The maps in Ranked Arena will change once every hour as opposed to the 15-minute rotation in unranked.

That’s everything you need to know about Ranked Arenas that will launch when Apex Legends Season 10 Emergence releases on August 3.