Call of Duty CS:GO Fortnite League of Legends Overwatch Apex FIFA Entertainment Dota2 Smash PUBG Gaming Dexerto TV About Contact
 
Apex Legends • Apr 13, 2019

$500,000 Twitch Rivals Apex Legends Showdown - schedule, players, format, info

Shares
$500,000 Twitch Rivals Apex Legends Showdown - schedule, players, format, info
J. Hill / ApexLegendsShut / Twitch Rivals

After weeks of qualifiers and anticipation, the Twitch Rivals Apex Legends Showdown at TwitchCon Europe is finally here, and below you can find everything you need to not miss a single second of the intense competitive action. 

Advertisement

At most of their TwitchCon events, Twitch usually looks to host tournaments for games that are trending at the time, so the 2019 TwitchCon Europe in Berlin, Germany seemed like the perfect occasion for a high-profile Apex Legends competition.

The tournament features some of the biggest Twitch streamers from the European region, and beyond, all of whom will be going head-to-head for a slice of the massive $500,000 prize pool. 

Advertisement

When is the Twitch Rivals Apex Legends Showdown?

The Twitch Rivals Apex Legends Showdown will be split into three parts - two qualifiers and the finals - all of which will take place on April 13. 

The first qualifier will start at 1 AM PT / 4 AM ET / 10 AM CET, the second qualifier at 5:30 AM PT / 8:30 AM ET / 2:30 PM CET, and the finals at 10 AM PT / 1 PM ET / 7 PM CET.

Advertisement

How to watch the Twitch Rivals Apex Legends Showdown

The Twitch Rivals Apex Legends Showdown will be streamed on the official Twitch Rivals channel, live from TwitchCon Europe in Berlin, Germany.

We have included the stream below for you convenience, so make sure to check back here to watch it live when the tournament kicks off.

In addition to the main stream, you can also watch the players on their own Twitch channels, as many of the competitors will also be streaming their perspective live from the event.

Live standings for Twitch Rivals Apex Legends Showdown

Twitch Rivals will be providing a live leaderboard for their Apex Legends Showdown, which is available via the link above. 

In it they will provide scores for each match, the current standings, each team's record, and more!

What is the format of the Twitch Rivals Apex Legends Showdown

As mentioned above, this competition will be split into two qualifiers that will lead into the finals. 

Each qualifier will feature 20 teams of three players each, and the top six teams from the two qualifiers will advance to the finals, where they will play against each other as well as the players that had already been invited directly into the final stage.

As for the competitive format itself, there hasn't been on officially announced yet, but it's likely to be similar to the two Twitch Rivals Apex Legends tournaments that were held prior to this one. 

In those tournaments, teams were matched up with each other in swiss-style format, and each match's winner was decided by the two teams loading into separate public matches and trying to score points based on the following breakdown:

  • 1st place = 10 points
  • 2nd place = 5 points
  • 3rd place = 4 points
  • 4th place = 3 points
  • 5th place = 2 points
  • Kill = 1 point
Respawn
Each qualifier will feature 20 teams of three players vying for a spot in the final round of the Twitch Rivals Apex Legends Showdown.

Players and teams in the Twitch Rivals Apex Legends Showdown

Twitch has officially named all of the streamers that will be competing in the various stages of the competition. 

60 players have been designated to the first qualifier, 60 others to the second qualifier, and 23 specially chosen streamers have been advanced directly into the finals, where they will await the top six teams from the two qualifiers.

What hasn't been revealed yet are the teams that these players will be forming, which we will also include here once they are announced. 

xQc - Twitter
Popular streamer xQc is one of the players that is already in the finals of the Twitch Rivals Apex Legends Showdown.

Prize breakdown of Twitch Rivals Apex Legends Showdown

The entire prize pool of the Twitch Rivals Apex Legends Showdown is $500,000, which will be divided between the three stages of the competition. 

The two qualifiers each will include a $35,000 prize pool, while the finals will be worth $350,000. The exact breakdown of how this money will be distributed betweens the teams at each stage has not yet been announced.

Read more about:
Twitch Rivals, TwitchCon